Healy-Rae/kerry gombeens at it again

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 13>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greengiant Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:38pm

Simple solution, no sober people allowed on the roads after 11pm.

This will also simulate the 2nd hard car market too as most people will opt for a 2nd car (or drink driving car if you will) to avoid a few dings and dents on the good VW Vento.
LOLLOLLOLClapClapClap
The first two-syllable word I ever learned growing up was discretion." Dunphy on a his childhood

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:39pm

Simple solution, no sober people allowed on the roads after 11pm.

This will also simulate the 2nd hard car market too as most people will opt for a 2nd car (or drink driving car if you will) to avoid a few dings and dents on the good VW Vento.
LOL or even 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nvidic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:40pm
only in Ireland would the designated driver scheme be completely looked over. Get four ole lads, one drives every week/other week, give them a free shandy and a coke or whatever, used to work well up in Dublin

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote roverstillidie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:41pm
Originally posted by greengiant greengiant wrote:

The farmers i agree with to an extent,but there existence is vital to the country. I dont like it either but they need to be protected. If the politicians get the people of Kerry sports facilities and roads then fair play to them,its needed in most rural areas.
The welfare culture are u having a laugh!!,that is without doubt 100% an urban problem!,its people like u that create a them and us mentality no matter what the topic. Whether its urban v rural,epl v loi!,u just need someone to look down on and point the finger.
Welfare culture that really made me laugh!!,where did that even come from!,we are discussing aul lads who have worked harder than most of us during their lifetime and how they can get out and socialise!

1: Why are farmers essential and need to be protected? The industry has changed. It is all about organic food now. Adapt or die. We will still get our milk from Germany. The good farmers will survive, the chancers who are being propped up won't.  

2: If you get paid by the state and use that money to live you are on welfare. That includes farmers who are paid not to farm. How did we end up in this situation.

3: I don't care how hard they have worked. They don't have a human right to drink drive and politicians should not be saying they will commit suicide if they don't get the right. If they chose to live in the back of beyond they chose life without public transport. Get a taxi, pay a friend. But the idea of taking reponsibility is anathema to them - whinge and blame Dublin.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:43pm
I reckon the Healy Rae's are part of a Jeremy Beadle giant prank on the nation. I keep expecting him to pop out in the dail with a micrphone and 'did you really think these guys were for real??  C'mon no one is that stupid.' And the nation of Ireland would be on the next show getting laughed at.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:43pm
Originally posted by kimbap kimbap wrote:

Farmers.
The Gah

The major ills of modern day Ireland's problems,
You're some tulipLOL

Look, culchies and the vote simply don't work. This is what happens. Morons spweing dangerous garbage paid for by the Dub.  The idea of correlating suicide with lack of alcohol is so far beyond acceptible from anyone in any position of power it is scary.

I'm getting quite sick of these mutants sucking at Dublin's teat.

If Kerry wants these guys representing them, let Kerry have autonomy and suffer the consequences.

Look everyone knows the Healy Rae's are the very definition of gombeenism.I don't know if they're even serious half the time.

You with you massive chip about "culchies and the vote don't work" (change the word culchie for something else and imagine yourself in South Africa) to realise how stupid you sound. You're the urban version of the Healy Rae's,just more bitter and less funny.
greengiant View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greengiant Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:44pm

only in Ireland would the designated driver scheme be completely looked over. Get four ole lads, one drives every week/other week, give them a free shandy and a coke or whatever, used to work well up in Dublin
Ye but who organises this the pub,the aul lads themselves?,they probly wouldnt have mobiles!,how many people know what aul country farmers are like?!,i just cant see it working!! LOL,our local just collects them
The first two-syllable word I ever learned growing up was discretion." Dunphy on a his childhood
kimbap View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kimbap Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:44pm

Good system i reckon.Would cost the pub a hell of a lot less to get the DD a coke or a few cups of tea than have a minibus running.The minibus idea isnt bad though and i know of a few places where it was tried out.Biggest problem was the cost (pub margins are very tight as it stands) and trying to get everyone out at the same time.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote roverstillidie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:47pm

Look everyone knows the Healy Rae's are the very definition of gombeenism.I don't know if they're even serious half the time.

You with you massive chip about "culchies and the vote don't work" (change the word culchie for something else and imagine yourself in South Africa) to realise how stupid you sound. You're the urban version of the Healy Rae's,just more bitter and less funny.

There is a fundamental problem in our democracy when a load of publicans can vote to try and have drink driving laws relaxed in their area (that is corruption by the way), link lack of alcohol to suicide and then when people object be told they are anti culchie. The DOJ will say no, Healy Rae will blame 'D4' and be some sort of folk hero to the bewildered.

If the people of Kerry insist on voting them in, Kerry County Council needs its powers completely gutted. Or expanded so the people of Kerry can pay for this madness and deal with the consequences.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:48pm

Madness , if you want to go down to the pub then drink water or something on those lines , hate this talk of premits just this tosh keeping his name on the news . Dislike the man i must say .

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:49pm

The farmers i agree with to an extent,but there existence is vital to the country. I dont like it either but they need to be protected. If the politicians get the people of Kerry sports facilities and roads then fair play to them,its needed in most rural areas.
The welfare culture are u having a laugh!!,that is without doubt 100% an urban problem!,its people like u that create a them and us mentality no matter what the topic. Whether its urban v rural,epl v loi!,u just need someone to look down on and point the finger.
Welfare culture that really made me laugh!!,where did that even come from!,we are discussing aul lads who have worked harder than most of us during their lifetime and how they can get out and socialise!

1: Why are farmers essential and need to be protected? The industry has changed. It is all about organic food now. Adapt or die. We will still get our milk from Germany. The good farmers will survive, the chancers who are being propped up won't.  

2: If you get paid by the state and use that money to live you are on welfare. That includes farmers who are paid not to farm. How did we end up in this situation.

3: I don't care how hard they have worked. They don't have a human right to drink drive and politicians should not be saying they will commit suicide if they don't get the right. If they chose to live in the back of beyond they chose life without public transport. Get a taxi, pay a friend. But the idea of taking reponsibility is anathema to them - whinge and blame Dublin.

Or the lads producing on an industrial scale, with cows pumped full of antibiotics and fed pure sh*te will survive, and the Kerryman with 50 head of cattle rearing them outdoors on grass with silage in winter producing great quality milk will fail.

The chancers are the lads producing cheap milk, not good quality milk. Think of farming subsidies as being public health subsidies and you're on the right track. Plus, the money for it is European, so the Germans are paying for our milk, whereas without the subsidies, we'd be paying for German milk. Hardly ideal, is it?

But how did a thread about drink driving turn into a welfare bashing thread?
Andkend View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Andkend Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:51pm
Surely it would be cheaper and safer to get them broadband and skype and install a keg and a tap in their homes - they could have a conference call every evening -

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote roverstillidie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:55pm

Or the lads producing on an industrial scale, with cows pumped full of antibiotics and fed pure sh*te will survive, and the Kerryman with 50 head of cattle rearing them outdoors on grass with silage in winter producing great quality milk will fail.

The chancers are the lads producing cheap milk, not good quality milk. Think of farming subsidies as being public health subsidies and you're on the right track. Plus, the money for it is European, so the Germans are paying for our milk, whereas without the subsidies, we'd be paying for German milk. Hardly ideal, is it?

Look, I simply don't care whp prodoces my milk. In the same way I don't care who produces my beer or shoes. I will chose Irish when I can, but not at the expense of quality.

The idea that tens of billions a year goes into farming to stop them killing us is interesting. If the Dept of Ag was doing its job, the crap would not make supermarket shelves.

I would prefer to keep my tax money, or spend it on things that are needed like schools and hospitals, and risk the German milk myself.

Edited by roverstillidie - 22 Jan 2013 at 12:57pm
kimbap View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kimbap Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:56pm

There is a fundamental problem in our democracy when a load of publicans can vote to try and have drink driving laws relaxed in their area (that is corruption by the way), link lack of alcohol to suicide and then when people object be told they are anti culchie. The DOJ will say no, Healy Rae will blame 'D4' and be some sort of folk hero to the bewildered.

If the people of Kerry insist on voting them in, Kerry County Council needs its powers completely gutted. Or expanded so the people of Kerry can pay for this madness and deal with the consequences.

Take a deep breath and relax.If you think this is actually going to happen then you're away with the fairies.This is a joke and further exposes the Healy Rae dynasty for the circus it is.The matter of social isolation,depression etc is not a laughing matter.But his article (big on the front page of the Indo,just above the national crisis reported below it that Harry Styles is a bit bored wth Taylor Swift banging on about antiques all the time,not mentioned that i could see at least on the Times site but probably in there somewhere) tells you all you need to know.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nvidic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:57pm

Ye but who organises this the pub,the aul lads themselves?,they probly wouldnt have mobiles!,how many people know what aul country farmers are like?!,i just cant see it working!! LOL,our local just collects them

here they just stuck posters up, DD show your keys and get three free soft drinks, actually had a huge uptake on it, minimal cost to the bar, actually think coca-cola paid for the drinks
greengiant View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greengiant Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 12:58pm

[QUOTE=greengiant]The farmers i agree with to an extent,but there existence is vital to the country. I dont like it either but they need to be protected. If the politicians get the people of Kerry sports facilities and roads then fair play to them,its needed in most rural areas.

1: Why are farmers essential and need to be protected? The industry has changed. It is all about organic food now. Adapt or die. We will still get our milk from Germany. The good farmers will survive, the chancers who are being propped up won't.  Every farmer is being propped up whether it is out of necessity or not and it comes from the EU anyway. I dunno what ur talking about,organic food,adapt or die?!,the profit is there if the government would put pressure on the likes of Tescos so it can be shared around appropriately because in essence these subsidies may as well be paid to Tescos and the supermarkets because it allows them to squeeze more profit for themselves.

2: If you get paid by the state and use that money to live you are on welfare. That includes farmers who are paid not to farm. How did we end up in this situation. So a nurse is on welfare?

3: I don't care how hard they have worked. They don't have a human right to drink drive and politicians should not be saying they will commit suicide if they don't get the right. If they chose to live in the back of beyond they chose life without public transport. Get a taxi, pay a friend. But the idea of taking reponsibility is anathema to them - whinge and blame Dublin. You talk about Healy Rae saying he only represents Kerry,what about you?!,its jumped up arrogant delusionals like yourself who make sure this country forgets what it was built upon.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 1:01pm

Look, I simply don't care whp prodoces my milk. In the same way I don't care who produces my beer or shoes. I will chose Irish when I can, but not at the expense of quality.

The idea that tens of billions a year goes into farming to stop them killing us is interesting. If the Dept of Ag was doing its job, the crap would not make supermarket shelves.

I would prefer to keep my tax money, or spend it on things that are needed like schools and hospitals, and risk the German milk myself.

Interesting, your problem seems to be with democracy. The elected representatives of the people have determined how taxes should be raised and how it should be redistributed (that is, with some going to Kerry farmers). If you have a problem with that (democracy, that is), maybe Germany is the place for you.

And it's not "your" tax money, it stops being yours once it's paid to the exchequer. The idea that you have any greater say over how public money is spent once the exchequer have it than any other citizen or voter simply because you paid it is ridiculous and dangerously anti-democratic. If every tax payer had a say over how their money was spent, nobody would ever pay any tax ever. Or, should I be entitled to three votes because I pay three times as much tax as you? Or, no vote, because I pay no tax? Stop the phrase "taxpayers' money", it's total bollocks. The money is not the taxpayers', it's the people's.

Edited by SuperDave84 - 22 Jan 2013 at 1:03pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2013 at 1:07pm
As Vincent Browne says everybody pays tax, its just not everybody pays income tax.  But the minute you buy a pint of milk you pay tax. 
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 13>