Rugby World Cup

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 34567 21>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShamtheRam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Sep 2011 at 9:23am
Bastard Aussies. Took on the +60. Missed out by 2 feckin points!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 2:59am

French are 16/1 to win outright. Well worth a few quid especially as the All Blacks will bottle it IMO
Hoosay View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hoosay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 4:09am
I stuck a tenner on an Ireland v New Zealand final a few weeks ago, 17/1. All we really have to do is beat Italy, beat Wales, hope England beat France then beat England ourselves and we're there. Easy money Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 4:13am
big win for the welsh against a decent Namibia side,we cant take them to lightly in a Q/F
as me granny used to say"never write off the Welsh"
Hoosay View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hoosay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 4:34am
Not writing them off at all, but I'd rather be in the "6 nations" half of the draw than the "tri-nations" half.
Assuming the draw pans out as expected (i.e. we don't f**k up against Italy) then we've got a relatively straightforward set of matches.
We've beaten Wales plenty of times recently and the team are used to beating Welsh teams at club level, they're two well matched teams but we can beat them. Plus we owe them one for that dodgy line out in Cardiff. 
Pretty sure that the recent warm up match is the only time England have beaten us since before the last WC. In our half of the draw France are the only ones that we should really fear, I'd like England to beat them but get a good pounding so that they're wrecked for the semi final.
Having said that some of our players are getting on a bit, and we really don't have anyone good enough to cover for BOD so if we get a couple of key injuries we could be f**ked.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RogerMilla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 4:54am
one game at a jaysis time lads, lets beat italy first , the whole of wales is delighted now they didnt beat south africa so that will tell you how they feel about having to play us . lets see how things pan out , france have put us out of 3 world cups and wales put us out of one and wales and england have beaten us to a fair  few grand slams  , no rush to play any of these

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 4:57am

big win for the welsh against a decent Namibia side,we cant take them to lightly in a Q/F
as me granny used to say"never write off the Welsh"

She also used to say, If you dont know something  why not google it. 
Hoosay View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hoosay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 5:51am

one game at a jaysis time lads, lets beat italy first , the whole of wales is delighted now they didnt beat south africa so that will tell you how they feel about having to play us . lets see how things pan out , france have put us out of 3 world cups and wales put us out of one and wales and england have beaten us to a fair  few grand slams  , no rush to play any of these

Sure we might as well give up now then.
To win the World Cup you have to beat the teams that are put in front of you. Wales are obviously happier to be facing us than Australia, for the same reasons we'd be happier facing them than South Africa, we both think we've got a better chance of winning and progressing to the semis finals playing each other than we would playing a tri-nations side.
I'd be happy enough with a semi final, it's better than we normally do, but if we were to get that far I'd rather have England than France that's all I'm saying.
We've got a week until the next game, no harm in speculating about what might happen, there's not much else to talk about until the weekend, as long as the players aren't as complacent as me, what's the harm.
Sure there's people in RoI section discussing potential playoff opponents when everyone has 2 group matches left.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RogerMilla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 11:10am
Originally posted by Hoosay Hoosay wrote:

Sure we might as well give up now then.
To win the World Cup you have to beat the teams that are put in front of you. Wales are obviously happier to be facing us than Australia, for the same reasons we'd be happier facing them than South Africa, we both think we've got a better chance of winning and progressing to the semis finals playing each other than we would playing a tri-nations side.
I'd be happy enough with a semi final, it's better than we normally do, but if we were to get that far I'd rather have England than France that's all I'm saying.
We've got a week until the next game, no harm in speculating about what might happen, there's not much else to talk about until the weekend, as long as the players aren't as complacent as me, what's the harm.
Sure there's people in RoI section discussing potential playoff opponents when everyone has 2 group matches left.

i agree it looks a softer side of the draw , but fellas are losing the run of themselves , wales often beat us and england are world cup specialists and france regularly pump us , this is not negativity , this is fact

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREEWHEELER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 11:13am
Just about to post (as yiz know I'm not a big rugby fan), but reading/listening to pundits, as Milla says, fellas are losing the run of themselves big time.  We (rightly) give out about the English and being deluded and expecting to win all the time and blah blah...........but Jaysus Ireland have to beat a very difficult Italy yet and then who's to say they won't come a cropper in the last 8, regardless who they might end up against.

Some of the assumptions being made are embarrassing really, they may as well starting singing Swing Low Sweet Caravan at this stage.
Hoosay View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hoosay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 11:41am
Originally posted by Hoosay Hoosay wrote:

I stuck a tenner on an Ireland v New Zealand final a few weeks ago, 17/1. All we really have to do is beat Italy, beat Wales, hope England beat France then beat England ourselves and we're there. Easy money Thumbs Up

Jaysus

Maybe I should have put the bit in bold in some sort of sarcastic quotes, it obviously isn't easy money...

I'm really not losing the run of myself, I'm terrified that the Italians will beat us.
I'm well aware that Wales can beat us, as I said us and Wales are very evenly matched.
We beat France around once every 10 years.
England are capable of beating us, but we're capable of beating them, another evenly matched contest.

But as a route to the final, Wales, England is a lot easier than South Africa, New Zealand. That's the reason the Welsh, English and French are happy to have us instead of Australia in that half of the draw, and it's the reason we should be happy to have them over SA and NZ.

We've never made it to the SF of a WC, and we're in our best ever position to do so this year.

Just being optimistic, and looking forward to getting £170 from Paddy Power IF we do end up playing NZ in the final.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sono Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 8:21pm
It's hilarious all the Aussie pundits writing off the Irish chances especially after we have already beaten them and deserved the win also, nothing fluky about that victory yet we are the ones with no hope, fukin idiots.

We will beat Italy and Wales will be a toss of a coin match and if we manage to get past them then who knows but I would rather France than England for me anyway if we get that far.

Either way I cant see anyone  beating the Kiwis they are a brilliant side and would love to see them win it and if we finished runners up to them it would be a brilliant tournament.

On a side note O'Gara has to start on Sunday, Sexton is pure wank.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShayGivensBum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 8:42pm

No one in Melbourne seems to give a sh*t about the rugby world cup all they care/talk about is AFL - good craic watching the games here tho makes it a little bit more interesting being in the group with the ozzies :)

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Honey Monster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 8:54pm

Gas the way so many Irish people are rugby experts all of a sudden LOL

Sasa, Victoria in general is all AFL, realised that when I was living down there as well, it’s nuts. If anything, football would be as popular as rugby league and union down there. It amazes me how this country is so good at Union given the fact that the majority of them couldn’t give a toss about it.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sono Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 8:58pm
Certainly not an expert but it is not hard to point out pretty much everything I have said in my post.

Wales match will be a very close game based on what I have seen of both teams so far.
England should be avoided in semi final match as I just wouldn't fancy us, much rather France.
Kiwis look the best in tournament and SHOULD win it
It would be a brilliant achievement to make final for Ireland
O'Gara should start on Sunday.

Rugby expert right there Tongue

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShayGivensBum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 10:25pm
I know they are MAD into AFL here its unreal - its all they talk about. Especially in work jaysus.

Most of the people I work with have no idea what is going on in the world cup I think one bloke said it to me about the Ozzie game the other week thats about it.

I dont get the big deal with AFL tbh but sure whatever you are into

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sono Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 10:56pm
I am sure ya dont mind the blokes playing the sport though Sasa.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShayGivensBum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Sep 2011 at 10:57pm

I am sure ya dont mind the blokes playing the sport though Sasa.

Was watching the brownlow last night and holy god I think im in love with Dane Swan

But the real hotties play NRL so thats my sport of choice for the moment Tongue
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 34567 21>