Topic ClosedBarry Maguire

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Barry Maguire
    Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 7:02am

Ireland coach Wim Koevermans has targeted coaxing striker Barry Maguire back to the Irish fold after the 18-year-old represented Holland for the past two years.

Maguire played for Ireland at under-15 level before moving to Holland throwing in his lot with the country of his mother’s birth and Koevermans knows just how good the young striker is.

The 18-year-old has recently signed for FC Utrecht from Den Bosch and he is rated very highly in the Netherlands having played 70 times for the Dutch first division side.

“Maybe we can bring him back to Ireland, but it is his decision. I will definitely have a call with him. Barry showed me when he played for Holland against Ireland that he was a very good player,” said Koevermans.

Maguire can still switch nationality, but he must do so before he turns 20 in October next year and Koevermans is eager to make his move before then.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 7:10am

never even heard of the lad

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 7:28am
hope his auld fella convinces him to wear the green !

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 7:30am
Have you heard of him before Rog? Quite surprised by this story. wonder why he left Ireland in the first place???

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 7:34am
never heard of him at all HM , presume he went to holland to be with his mum , no?
bet soccerc will know him

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 7:36am

bet soccerc will know him

Bet he's a few pics of him tooLOLLOL

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 7:40am
Well he does know everything to be fair. Milla, no doubt you'll be told you're WRONG about him!

A Barry Maguire playing for Holland just doesnt sound right at all. Even if he did move to be with his ma, he could certainly still put a green jersey on....has to be much more to this story...

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 7:50am

A Barry Maguire playing for Holland just doesnt sound right at all. Even if he did move to be with his ma, he could certainly still put a green jersey on....has to be much more to this story...

Yeah he's a traitor. Throw him in the same fire as Stephen Ireland, Roy Keane etc etc.

You know what i find funny about this. Stans 1st press conference he talked about the granny rule etc etc and we laughed at him.
stiofain View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 7:51am
I've heard of the name previously (on the FAI site, i think), but cant claim to know much about him.
I'm 99.9% sure that he's actuctally Dutch born and bred but his old fella is Irish. Even so, thats no excuse for him not to be wearing the green. Cop on Barry!
stiofain View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 7:54am
Originally posted by billybob billybob wrote:

You know what i find funny about this. Stans 1st press conference he talked about the granny rule etc etc and we laughed at him.

Good point. I'll hold my hands up there and admit i wasnt impressed by Stan coming out with that.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 7:55am

Yeah he's a traitor. Throw him in the same fire as Stephen Ireland, Roy Keane etc etc.

I only said the above if the reason for him stopping to play for Ireland was if he moved away from the country.

If Stiofain's theory is correct about him actually being Dutch then it makes more sense. However, we wont know until soccerc logs on of course

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 7:59am
Your right Stiofain. He is Dutch born but his auld is irish.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 8:03am
Originally posted by McGoldrick2284 McGoldrick2284 wrote:

Your right Stiofain. He is Dutch born but his auld is irish.

That from wiki McArse?

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 8:03am

I only said the above if the reason for him stopping to play for Ireland was if he moved away from the country.

If Stiofain's theory is correct about him actually being Dutch then it makes more sense. However, we wont know until soccerc logs on of course

Hehe...relax...just winding ya up.

My stance is that if he strengthens the squad brilliant be it he's black,english,dutch,mental etc etc

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 8:04am
Yeah would ye look at McG letting on he's heard of him before.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 8:06am

Yeah would ye look at McG letting on he's heard of him before.

He gave soccerc a quick text Big%20smile

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 8:10am

Lads we can't be too hard on the lad for throwing in his lot with Holland, we don't know the circumstances of why he did it.  Let's not be all judgemental on that, he's entitled to do what he did.   

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2008 at 8:27am
I read it in the Herald a while back. They were talking bout that German lad Tidum or whatever his name is as well.

Gave Soccerc a quick text just to be sure though..

Human encyclopedia that lad