The Weather

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 155156157158159 173>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lassassinblanc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2021 at 1:21pm

we long for the good days when its raining but we simply are not built for this heat. let call it as it is were just pasty white people who belong under the mist and rain. in saying that when its raining next week we will be longing for the sun again. can't win either way.

I don't. Give me the rain any day over this, it's absolutely horrible out there at the moment. Walked out the front door of my apartment building today at lunch time to find two guards standing beside an older fella who was sitting on the ground. He'd passed out with the heat and they were waiting for an ambulance. I don't know how they stick it in Spain and places where it's warmer again and it's constant all summer long.    

They've acclimatized. 

They haven't though
I work with 2 lads from Seville and Greece and both love it here because of the cooler climate. They would have lived in extreme temperatures.

One of the lads moved back to Seville and it was 46 last week and he was struggling. He gets up at 5am to get a decent cycle in to avoid the hot temperatures too.

There's always exceptions to the rule and 46 is uncomfortable for any man.

By and large, they are in much better shape for their climates. I could tell you the amount of times ive been laughed at by those from med countries when i say what we experience now is hot.

Sure go to Madrid and youll see lads in full tins of fruit as you bake in your shorts and not a bother on them. Doesnt mean they prefer it. 

I remember the shuttle bus from Train station to Ground in Lille during the Euros, majority of Irish supporters were dripping with sweat , the Italians nowt wrong with them

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Huntacha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2021 at 1:49pm
Don't think I've ever been in a hot a place as the trams out to the stadium in Bordeaux for the Belgium game. People having to take jerseys off and dry them on the ground.

It's hot, and it's been a few years since I've experienced it as hot here, but we're lucky that we don't get a lot of humidity. Without that, we really don't know what it's like in the likes of Spain or the Middle East.

When it's roasting, the breeze we get is tremendous Clap
jamo1 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jamo1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2021 at 2:41pm

Don't think I've ever been in a hot a place as the trams out to the stadium in Bordeaux for the Belgium game. People having to take jerseys off and dry them on the ground.

It's hot, and it's been a few years since I've experienced it as hot here, but we're lucky that we don't get a lot of humidity. Without that, we really don't know what it's like in the likes of Spain or the Middle East.

I think we get more humidity than Spain and the ME. 29 here feels a lot hotter than 29 in Spain. But ye the breeze makes a big difference.

Edited by jamo1 - 22 Jul 2021 at 2:42pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Huntacha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2021 at 3:38pm
Originally posted by jamo1 jamo1 wrote:

I think we get more humidity than Spain and the ME. 29 here feels a lot hotter than 29 in Spain. But ye the breeze makes a big difference.

I agree on this. Lowest I've experienced in Dubai has been 16 degrees around January time and it's genuinely cold in the mornings. 16 degrees would be shorts and t-shirt weather here.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MayoMark Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2021 at 3:40pm
Pants are f**king stuck to me at work. Bring on the long winter evenings I say

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lassassinblanc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2021 at 4:18pm

Yeah was so hot that day, lack of cover made it worse I think.

Hottest (weather) experience I remember was Mexico game in 94 stadium was like an oven and still to this day I wonder whose great idea it was to have metal seats LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sausy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2021 at 4:42pm

Pants are f**king stuck to me at work. Bring on the long winter evenings I say

I'm in shorts in the office at the minute, only way to survive the heat!! any kind of formal wear or "dress for the day ahead" went out the window with covid.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2021 at 4:47pm
Last night was the 1st night I got something that resembles a decent sleep - got a solid 6 hours.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote theheff1989 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2021 at 5:06pm
Found last night a struggle myself, of all the night. Could feel the sweat on me rubbing onto the sheets.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2021 at 7:02pm

It was cxxtish on those alright Dead

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2021 at 12:08am
Now this is just ridiculous the humidity.  I know how Monica feels tonight 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MayoMark Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2021 at 12:20am
f**king 20 degrees at midnight. All the heat from the last 3 days trapped in the house. It's absolute torture 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hotlips_Hoolahan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2021 at 12:24am
TMI.

Edited by Hotlips_Hoolahan - 23 Jul 2021 at 12:25am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2021 at 10:10am

Yeah was so hot that day, lack of cover made it worse I think.

Hottest (weather) experience I remember was Mexico game in 94 stadium was like an oven and still to this day I wonder whose great idea it was to have metal seats LOL
I was in the outback in Oz and the temps were 44c , i found it hard walking to be honest .

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2021 at 10:31am
Was in the desert in New Mexico a couple of years back & it was mid forties, it’s a different kind of heat though, no humidity makes a huge difference 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lassassinblanc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2021 at 10:44am

Was in the desert in New Mexico a couple of years back & it was mid forties, it’s a different kind of heat though, no humidity makes a huge difference 

Yeah as the old saying goes "It's not so much the heat, it's the humidity that'll kill you."

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drumcondra 69er Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2021 at 11:20am

The stadium in Lille with the roof closed was ridiculously hot. Yet still didn't hold a candle to the Mexico game in 94 which was actually criminal scheduling. And no water bottles allowed on pitch, absolute madness.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sausy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2021 at 11:23am

Yeah as the old saying goes "It's not so much the heat, it's the humidity that'll kill you."

Best line from Cool Runnings Clap
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 155156157158159 173>