Best Restaurants Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 2425262728 53>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2017 at 5:33pm

Had a work lunch there during the summer NR and it was top class. Used to be the hotspot for the blue rinse brigade but they've modernised it and with touch of class. Also had our Xmas do downstairs in their Speakeasy last year. Good gang working there. 

Had the fish and chips Thumbs Up

When was prohibition introduced to Dublin?

Give them a call and ask. Oh and while you're at it, call the Grand Central too as they have their basement bar named the same Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AntrimMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2017 at 6:10pm
Originally posted by da_launchpad da_launchpad wrote:

Whats a good steakhouse / meat house in Belfast? 
Heading there this weekend. Proper fillet steak and chunky spud chips. None of them skinny fires sh*te

Meat Locker by Deanes. 

Top notch but pricey. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2017 at 6:35pm
Thanks lads - will let you know how I get on

Edited by Newryrep - 21 Nov 2017 at 6:36pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sligo Hornet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2017 at 8:59pm

Any reports on Flanagans ?

They’re like the Chuckle Brothers only without smiling or laughing

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2017 at 9:11pm

Any reports on Flanagans ?

that doesn't even make sense Confused is your new script writer still on probation  ?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2017 at 9:19pm

[QUOTE=Newryrep] Any reports on Flanagans ?

that doesn't even make sense Confused is your new script writer still on probation  ?
[/QUOTEt]

Hate Henry ya eejit

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2017 at 12:25am

Had a work lunch there during the summer NR and it was top class. Used to be the hotspot for the blue rinse brigade but they've modernised it and with touch of class. Also had our Xmas do downstairs in their Speakeasy last year. Good gang working there. 

Had the fish and chips Thumbs Up

When was prohibition introduced to Dublin?

Give them a call and ask. Oh and while you're at it, call the Grand Central too as they have their basement bar named the same Thumbs Up
I'll do what I do to any other place with a stupid name and just go elsewhere, seeing as there is more chance of me going down the Tory club than Dublin it should be fairly easy!
da_launchpad View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote da_launchpad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2017 at 10:40am

Originally posted by da_launchpad da_launchpad wrote:

Whats a good steakhouse / meat house in Belfast? 
Heading there this weekend. Proper fillet steak and chunky spud chips. None of them skinny fires sh*te

Meat Locker by Deanes. 

Top notch but pricey. 

If in doubt just f**k it out!!! Stop the nonsense as Johnny Giles would say
cm79 View Drop Down
Cawhil cattle caaaaal

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cm79 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2017 at 11:53am
The Blind Pig is the name of the prohibition themed place and it is a great spot.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 10:38am
Had ribeye on the bone in Darwin’s last night as did the Mrs - superb taste and excellently cooked as was the whole meal

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sligo Hornet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 6:24pm

Had ribeye on the bone in Darwin’s last night as did the Mrs - superb taste and excellently cooked as was the whole meal

Didn’t realise they did a “ BOGOF” deal at that restaurant....thanks for the heads up
cm79 View Drop Down
Cawhil cattle caaaaal

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cm79 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2018 at 3:46pm
La Maison, beside Grogans pub on Castle Market.

Great food and very reasonably priced.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2018 at 4:44pm
It's very hard to beat classic French cuisine.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2018 at 4:56pm

It's very hard to beat classic French cuisine.

Have you tried one of these?

Image result for beating eggs

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2018 at 4:59pm
Has anyone ever eaten from a Michelin Star restaurant and are they worth it?  I just picture these pretentious tiny portions coming out on huge plates and going to McDonalds after to fill the belly that should have been filled for the 60 euro you spent in the restaurant.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2018 at 5:06pm

Has anyone ever eaten from a Michelin Star restaurant and are they worth it?  I just picture these pretentious tiny portions coming out on huge plates and going to McDonalds after to fill the belly that should have been filled for the 60 euro you spent in the restaurant.

Depending on where you go, you won't get change from 60 euro, especially if you get wine.

I've been to about half a dozen and eaten well in each one. I certainly wasn't hungry when I left.

The technical expertise and flavour combinations are generally well beyond the usual. The last one I was in had two stars in Lyon and it really was exceptional. However, even though we went for lunch, we still spent €70 each, including a bottle of wine split among three of us. That was for three courses.

If you go to a starred restaurant, the individual courses may be small. But you will always have a few courses, with bread, and usually also with an amuse bouche and petit fours afterwards. Like on a "three course" menu in a starred restaurant, you will usually get your amuse bouche, fresh baked bread, starter, main, dessert and coffee with petit fours. It is a reasonable amount of food.

Chapter One in Dublin is a great restaurant. I haven't eaten in Loam or Aniar in Galway so I can't comment on them.

You have to like the occasion and accept that you will leave satisfied but not stuffed.

Edited by SuperDave84 - 10 Jul 2018 at 5:08pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2018 at 5:14pm
What kind of stuff is on the menu?  All types of food or mostly French?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2018 at 5:21pm
Depends on the restuarant, frankly. Irish restaurants tend to emphasise Irish produce. It's the same in most countries - emphasis on seasonal, local produce, well cooked, well presented.

Have a look at the menus of any restaurant with a star, and have a look at the pictures (try googling "chapter one food"). Frankly, though, unless you actually visit one, it's hard to explain what it's like.

The menus do tend to be limited, though. A lot of the menus are set menus. Even on the a la carte menus, you will rarely have more than four or five options for each course.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 2425262728 53>