Topic ClosedFavourite Irish memory

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Favourite Irish memory
    Posted: 25 Apr 2008 at 10:40am
Unfortunately, and it hurts, i was too young to properly remember and appreciate Euro 88, Italia 90 and USA 94 so my fondest memories of the boys in green havent been as dramatic and historic as the older generation.

Been on some terrific away trips and certainly Paris was probably still the best few days of my life - will never ever forget 25000 paddies singing THEIR national anthem Big%20smile

I'm gonna go for Robbie Keane's equaliser against ze Germans in WC 2002 - dont think I've ever gone so nuts about a goal in my life....what a feeling

Justice Shark View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2008 at 10:45am
Behind the Goal in Suwon when Robbie Keane equalised in the last minute to force exta time against the spanairds was probably my highlight

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2008 at 10:55am

i remember i almost got fired from a crappy summer job when i watched that game v germany when keane scored, i put my phone on break and fecked off to the big screen at the top of the room to watch the football. My arsey boss came up and told me to get back to work (this was in glasgow) I told him "Look, if Scotland were in the world cup,in such an important game, yous wouls all be parked round the TV too, so i'm staying put"

Thankfully he was a football fan and understood so he let me beClap
For me it was prob ray houghton's goal v Italy in US 94.....pure heaven winning that game. Our house was going mental that night
tirchonaill View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2008 at 11:09am
Def being behind the goals when keane scored against the germans  at WC2002.. even the japs stayed behind in the ground taking loads of photos of us..

Irish team taking to the pitch for warm up  before Cameroon game, they looked shellshocked when they seen the amount of support was there.

Def the french national anthem in Paris was something to remember..

ernesto guevara View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2008 at 11:12am
As also I was to young for the great nites in Stuttgart,Genoa and New York id be stuck between 3 games.......

Anfield Charltons last game against the Dutch,The KOP full of Paddys,Pure emotion,very memorable.
Iran... to witness your country qualify for the world cup is something to behold even if there was just about 300 Irish fans in a sold out 120 thousand seater stadium
Ibaraki..... Robbies goal that nite literally sent me to heaven and back.

Edited by ernesto guevara - 25 Apr 2008 at 11:13am
If you tremble with indignation at every injustice, then you are a comrade of mine.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2008 at 11:13am
didnt make it to japan , but robbies goal against the germans was savage alright
stiofain View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2008 at 11:47am

Like others on here, i wasnt old enough to appreciate the first three tournments we played in. Robbie's goal against Germany in 2002 is by far my greatest memory supporting Ireland, which just beats McAteer's goal against Holland during the qualifiers.

Only started properly going to the games in the last campagne. Funny enough, my favourte Ireland away trip was the friendly against Denmark. Fantastic couple of days and a great perfromance/result.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2008 at 1:16pm
Unfortunately too old to remember much!

First game against Cyprus in 1980 and a terrific Tony Grealish goal.
A brilliant game against Hungary in 1989 and later against Norn Iron.
Alan McLoughlin's goal in Norn Iron that got us to USA 1994.
Sheedy's equaliser against England in 1990.
Casco's equaliser against England a year later.
The Garda after the abandoned game against England in 1995.
The list goes on.

Robbie Keane's equaliser against Germany was a brilliant moment....except I almost killed my kid who was only a couple of months old at the time. I was leaping around the basement and almost landed on her twice. She still hasn't forgiven me....and the wife won't speak to me (a plus I suppose).

Best game I ever went to was 1981 Ireland 3 - 2 France. A brilliant game and the VCR's were only coming in at the time and must have watched the entire game several times in the window of the TV place in Malbrough Street.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2008 at 1:50pm
plenty of memories
in no particular order...some good ....some bad..

1. Kelly scoring against the brits followed by half of the west stand seating ending up on the pitch

2. Paris... anthem singing, toilets that were literally a hole in the ground, gobsh*tes falling around the stadium drunk on non alcoholic beer, train station in brussels

3. Schlossplatz.... footballs, blokes stroking bikes to go on beer runs, orange and slice of cheese brekkies, tankers of beer

4. Going to club sarahs for every USA 94 game, destroying about 10 blokes with bulmers when houghton scored against Italy

5. Bootin down the canal to Smiths before Lansdowne games...bring it back

6. Wales 2007... Count and Gerks check in fiasco at Dublin airport resulting in the lugging of those poxy boxes for miles

7. In a Dutch bar in the canaries for Ireland Holland game.

8. wearing ireland bermuda shorts to the top tier of the east stand in middle of November...forget what game it was... too numb to remember

9. singing "youre never goin to beat us" in the Charlton days in Lansdowne

10. Holidays in spain in 1988....me wearing a T shirt with a photo of houghton scoring the winner in stuttgart and gettin hateful looks of the 3 lion brigade

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2008 at 2:18pm
Number One - Razor header against the Brits
theworm2345 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2008 at 3:47pm
Jesus I seem pathetic.  Our matches in WC 2002 were all so early in the morning here (I believe most around 5:30 in the morning, thats early when you're 12) and I wasn't that big of a fan then, so I barely remember any of them (couldn't tell you if I watched them, I'm sure I was asleep half of the time watching most of the games).  I feel like I remember watching them but that may be only because I've seen the replays so many times.  The only one I vividly remember is the Spain game, which must have been on Tape Delay and we watched at our grandparents house.  While I followed the team online the next few years, I don't think I watched another match until the 0-0 draw with France in WC 2006 qualifying.  Since nothing really good has happened in between, I'd have to say Spain in the World Cup is my greatest memory, even if it is bittersweet.  Cry

Maybe a week and half ago when I saw David Connolly's name in the squad too Wink

Edited by theworm2345 - 25 Apr 2008 at 3:51pm
League of Ireland archive with reports back to 91/92 (goalscorers for First Division) now online, plus Twitter: twitter.com/StattoLOI
stiofain View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2008 at 3:54pm
worm, for your sake i'd love to see Connolly score a vital goal for us sometime in the near future. You'd be owed many apologies on foot.ie then...

Edited by stiofain - 25 Apr 2008 at 3:54pm
theworm2345 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2008 at 5:23pm
Obviously I too would love that but at this point I would be ecstatic to see anyone score a goal that actually mattered for us

Edited by theworm2345 - 25 Apr 2008 at 5:25pm
League of Ireland archive with reports back to 91/92 (goalscorers for First Division) now online, plus Twitter: twitter.com/StattoLOI
Tuff Paddy View Drop Down
It's Rome!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2008 at 2:34am
I'd like an apology from that t**ser who runs foot.ie :0)
Waka waka hey hey, we're in Armenia!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Apr 2008 at 2:22pm
Originally posted by Tuff Paddy Tuff Paddy wrote:

I'd like an apology from that t**ser who runs foot.ie :0)

David Connolly scoring for Ireland is a better option, TP.
ryaner13 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Apr 2008 at 5:21pm

Trigger's magic winner at Lansdowne !!!

Liverpool F.C go deo..
Madpadmcmad View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Apr 2008 at 1:04am
Being allowed in bars in Cagliari in 1990 while the Ingerlish were being thrown out. Great craic !

Boozing with American-Italians in Italian bars in New York was brilliant.

And don't believe you can't get a beer in Teheran. You can.

I like the odd cider !!!
Pog mo thion !

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Apr 2008 at 3:20am
Behind the goal in Stuttgart 88, I can still see it now, Heaven
Sheedy's equaliser in Cagliari after getting p*ssed on by a savage storm and me glasses going flying when he scored, F*ck knows how I found them again.
McGrath's display v Italy in Giants Stadium, peerless
Quinner's equaliser in Wembley in 1991, sublime
Worst moment:  The Lansdowne Riot
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>