Topic ClosedShay Given chants

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Shay Given chants
    Posted: 20 Jun 2007 at 2:51pm
Check out these chants................................ is it any wonder were crap in the eurovision

http://www.shay-given.com/chants-shay-given.html

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2007 at 3:04pm
some crackers there alright Percy!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2007 at 3:16pm
For fark's sake, I reckon the oldest contributor there was the 12 year old!  Bless 'em......maybe we should start a John O'Shea chant competition.  Creator of the corniest wins the Josh "How To Be a World Class International" DVD..........

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2007 at 3:22pm
has he even got any chants for him at united? except the ole oshea os shea muck. In fairness though theres actually no songs for any player on the team except in the past for OOOOOhhhh AAAAAhhhhh Paul McGrath or Keano...keano, keano. Theres actually no other songs/chants sung for any players?

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2007 at 3:24pm
True enough Count, you'd miss Gary Breen all the same........those tributes in Stuttgart to him were class.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2007 at 3:29pm
how could I forget about good oul Breenzer, tut tut!   

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 2007 at 3:10am
how did we keep the opposition like holland and the germans and spain down to such low scores with him on the park is the question!! Fair play to him. Would love to meet him and shake his hand.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 2007 at 4:34am
Cult hero alright was Gary, he'd a brilliant WC in 2002 in fairness, wasn't there rumours of a move to the Nou Camp after those displays?

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 2007 at 5:59am
i thought it was AC milan who were having a look , seriously !!
has anyone done a cult hero report in him for the fanzine ??

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 2007 at 7:52am
Think it was Inter in the end that were rumoured to get him.....madness.
Back to the chants, apart from "Ireland Ireland", "Stand up for the boys in green" and the odd "fields of Athenry", we really do struggle for songs/chants - especially at home games. Anytime someone tries to start a new song at a home game they get looked at like they've 2 heads.....typical home support w*nkers! If only our home supporters were as enthusiastic as our away supporters...

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 2007 at 8:12am
could do breenzer as the cult hero for next fanzine, what do you reckon lads?

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 2007 at 9:09am
well deserved i think count , obviously not on ability but definitely pride in the jersey and a prominent role in the mccarthy years
Prendy View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2007 at 9:22am
Some typical chants for irish players i have heard are:

Duff (to the tune of All you need is Love - The Beatles)
All you need is Duff, da da da da da
All you need is Duff, Duff
Duff is all you need

Also the Duff, Duff will tear you apart again........which was a rip off of the man utd one for giggs to joy divisions love wll tear you apart

Oshea has a chant at utd which is:

when johnny goes running down the wing, oshea, oshea

when johnny goes running down the wing, the stretford end are gonna sing cos we all know that johnnys gonna score

other than that our collection of songs for players is pretty poor, with only keano being given an airing when he does anything

need a good one for doyle and some of the newer lads now plus given
L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2007 at 12:38pm
For a nation of drunks and balladours, it's a pretty miserable return of songs..Even if you bring back a song from an away game it's not going to ba taken on board by the home fans.

Kilbane: Sang to que Cera cera....Kev Kilbane, Kilbane Whatever will be will be, he's no better than your gran, he's certainly no Zidane...Kev Kilbane, Kilbane what ever will be will ...etc etc

Not much of a compliment so sing that one to myself

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2007 at 3:25pm
Love the Kilbane one, class.  Good point, we need to invent a few, in fairness some of the English clubs fans have brilliant minds for chants.   Good idea Count for a Cult Hero article on Breen, I'd agree with that!  Jesus wept, O'Shea has a United chant, if I were chanting a song about him for Ireland, fckn simple.......You're sh*t and we know you are........sorry but he is.  I'll try come up with an invention meself over the weekend.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2007 at 6:10pm
maybe a section for the next fanzine should include a song sheet etc
L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2007 at 6:24am
the singing section for Croker is such a good idea, and you'd have people coming up with new ditties to beat the band. Instead of looking like a tit for  trying to get a new song going you'd be incouraged weather the song was good or not..pity

Maybe if you could get a lot of fans to meet in one particular pub before a match just purely to try out new songs..??

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2007 at 2:53pm
It seems that our repertoire of songs is "Come on you boys in green" when we need to score.......... "ole ole"  when we do score and "stand up for the boys in green"........................ and we seem to be singing the first one more so than the others. On away trips there seems to be a better selection of songs  ( anyone remember  "singin in the rain" outside the train station in Stuttgart?)... I think the singin is better on away trips for two reasons..... 1 because we want to make ourselves heard and live up to our names on foreign soil ... and 2 because the fans are together for the weekend  and from early morning on match days.     Maybe on match days in dublin the Fai could look into stickin a few tents in Stephens green, sell a few beers and let the craic commence.    The Schlossplatz was class....... herein lies the difference..... meeting an hour before kick off in Quinns or the big tree isnt goin to kick off a great atmosphere.

And yes we need people to come up with a few new songs.Using the chants and songs we used in italia 90 is a great credit to their authors but even the Fai have changed their logo twice since then!