Topic ClosedCousins sacked

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Cousins sacked
    Posted: 01 Apr 2008 at 1:54am
be very surprised if soemone isnt lined up already...anyone heard anything , dotn say roddy collins....

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2008 at 4:55am
Roddy CollinsLOL

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2008 at 5:00am
Wouldnt be surprised!

1 point from 4 games, not great but very very early in the season - bit of a rash decision maybe Rog??
The Rovers View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2008 at 5:09am
Jaysus, nobody gets a chance these days. Of course theres always possibility that there is more to it

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2008 at 7:00am
Fair play to Cousins, he turned up on MNS on RTE last night only a couple of hours after getting the chop.  He was definitely a bit down about it but I thought he put up a good defence of himself.  4 games into it is a joke but Cousins was saying there were a couple on the board who were completely against him, when that happens you're pretty much fcked.  Roddy's in the frame for Rotherham Roger, so I think you can rest easy on Louis Copeland suits in Terryland's dugout.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2008 at 8:16am
texted a fella i know who works for the club , they are looking abroad for the new manager....

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2008 at 11:44am
Martin Keown is rumoured lads

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2008 at 4:22pm
On the MNS show tonight they were talking about your man Patrick Walker, (was manager of Orebro in sweden) This was the fella the soccerc was saying was in the running for the irish job a while back.Ermm
Anyway Damien Richardson dismissed the call saying that he isnt the man for the job as he doesnt know the loi players

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2008 at 5:45am
walker came out and said he has spoken to united , but i cant see them matching whatever he is on in sweden

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2008 at 7:26am

walker came out and said he has spoken to united , but i cant see them matching whatever he is on in sweden

Walker came out and said he declined their offer of the job though Galway claim otherwise.

Pat is very aware of the game and the players here despite Rico's words.

He has advised many el clubs during their European games over the past number of years.

I can assure you it was nothing to do with the money.

Edited by soccerc - 15 Apr 2008 at 7:28am

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2008 at 7:33am
thats a pity soccerc , i would like to see him be the one ...

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Apr 2008 at 8:53am
Jeff Kenna takes up the reigns

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Apr 2008 at 9:06am
Read that this morning....interesting - what do you make of it Rog?

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Apr 2008 at 9:07am
Can only be good in my opinion. Former international and has a premier league winners medal. Should be able to attract a few decent players down there if he's given the money to do so.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Apr 2008 at 9:19am
In fairness to Jeff, he was the model pro. A friend of mine told me that when Kenna was growing up, all of his mates used to to the pub and Jeff would be out running around his local park. He said that the lads used to come out of the pub and he would be still running around the park - probably a bit of an exaggeration or his mates didnt drink too much but the point is that he worked hard to get where he is. Wasnt the most gifted player but gave his all - bit like Killer.
If he can drill such determination into the Galway lads then they've got themselves a decent manager

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Apr 2008 at 9:19am
Had alot of time for Kenna as a player, he was an excellent pro and he was sound when I bumped into him in the Burlo bar the night of the Lansdowne Riot in 95.  Hope he does well.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Apr 2008 at 12:59pm
Delighted for kenna, Love to see former internationals make the step up to management...

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Apr 2008 at 6:42pm
HM, are your friends paid as fairytale writers?  They do come out with some beauts all the same.

Dunno who told you that sh*te but Jeff  moved to  Southampton when he was 14 or so, the family upped sticks from palmerstown so he could legally sign.

Rarely ventured back to his old haunts and certainly didn't run around fields while his peers were in the Granite or Mucky Duck Tongue

One lad I know who was best mates with him as a kid hasn't spoken to him since he left in 1984/85 and regrets he never told young jeff a few home thruths

In fairness to Jeff, he was the model pro. A friend of mine told me that when Kenna was growing up, all of his mates used to to the pub and Jeff would be out running around his local park. He said that the lads used to come out of the pub and he would be still running around the park - probably a bit of an exaggeration or his mates didnt drink too much but the point is that he worked hard to get where he is. Wasnt the most gifted player but gave his all - bit like Killer.
If he can drill such determination into the Galway lads then they've got themselves a decent manager