Topic Closeddaryl murphy

Direct Link To This Post Topic: daryl murphy
    Posted: 10 Feb 2008 at 11:11am
anyone notice mr.murphy's goal yesterday. there were calls from some that he shouldnt be picked for the squad for the brazil game. this lad continues to be picked by mr.keane and is improving all the time. there are 3 reasons why players like murphy MUST be picked for irish squads.
1. he plays top level football (not championship level )
2. he is young enough to improve
3. if we stick by such players in a couple of years we will have a team good enough to compete with the best

appreciation to the players of the past like clinton but come on lads lets look to the future

P.S. good to see andy reid supply the pass to set up murphys goal

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2008 at 11:16am
Smashing goal and the lad is playing a stromer. He's surprising most people with his recent form - it wasnt long ago that he was very close to amove to QPR but im glad to see him turning it around. It was a joke that himself or Long didnt get a run last wednesday and must have been discouraging for them when they see Duff play up front while they sit on the bench
ernesto guevara View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2008 at 11:41am
Stunning strike by Daryl,like a scud missile leaving his foot,great build up play by Andy Reid.Well done to both of them,great to see as there both top lads.Clap
If you tremble with indignation at every injustice, then you are a comrade of mine.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2008 at 12:48pm
Great goal and plaudits well deserved!!

Did you see the other few chances he missed though?? Brutal

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2008 at 2:16pm
Yeah he had 2 other chances which were much better than his goal and he made a complete fook up of them! Dont think he's a future first 11 Irish striker but could be a useful squad member if he keeps his form up...

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2008 at 3:31pm
Agree there HM....deserves a place in the squad and his chance but will never set the world alight!!
The Special One View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2008 at 4:16pm
To be ehonest I always thought he was a terrible player. I have never been impressed with him any time I saw him, and he missed 2 shocking chances yesterday.

But credit where credit is due, super strike yesterday and I fully agree with point above, we need a squad full of premiership players.... Murphy is worth a place in the squad but he'll never be good enough to start at International level.

billybunter View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2008 at 5:55pm
what a pass from Reid. Sir Roy mentioned something when the deal was being done about Andy eing able to 'spot a pass" - I reckon And reid will be worth about 10 pointS to Sunderland before the season is over. I bet Kenwye Jones is happy to se someone that can drop a a pass into him as well. I thin Murphy will be a good player for us, just dont know where to fcukin play him!
billybunter View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2008 at 5:55pm
sorry for the typo's - my keyboard is missing a few letters.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2008 at 1:55am
fair play to him but he doesnt deserve a place in the squad yet

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2008 at 3:25am

Wonder strike and sublime pass from my pal Reidy (I'm a massive fan of Andy Reid).  Murphy has so much natural ability and natural ball striking, but he needs to score the easier ones alright, the old term, not a great scorer of goals but a scorer of great goals probably applies to him.  He's got a bit to go yet but any more stuff like that and he'll be there or thereabouts.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Feb 2008 at 3:47am
andy reid has really won me over since the czech game away where he was excellent , i am now a believer!