Dublin Pubs

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 49>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hickster74 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 8:45pm

Is the 'Confession Box' still going? I used to enjoy the craic in there, used to be a few characters and decent stout.

The Confession Box is still going alright. Sort of place where you can get chatting to anyone. Great for a stop after one of the quieter Dubs games, you'd love the crowd for that PM!

MacNeills on Capel st. is a great spot for interesting characters. Met a few gaeilgeoir poets last time.

Not many places I wouldn't go but Sunset House is one (think its changed names after the shooting..). There was one under Harold's Cross bridge I never liked the look of, not sure if its still there. And one on a corner at the back of James' gate.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 8:49pm
Originally posted by Hickster74 Hickster74 wrote:

Is the 'Confession Box' still going? I used to enjoy the craic in there, used to be a few characters and decent stout.

The Confession Box is still going alright. Sort of place where you can get chatting to anyone. Great for a stop after one of the quieter Dubs games, you'd love the crowd for that PM!

MacNeills on Capel st. is a great spot for interesting characters. Met a few gaeilgeoir poets last time.

Not many places I wouldn't go but Sunset House is one (think its changed names after the shooting..). There was one under Harold's Cross bridge I never liked the look of, not sure if its still there. And one on a corner at the back of James' gate.

Harold House? 

That's a nice spot and pints are very cheap. Real locals place but not a bit rough. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 8:54pm
Id say he means the other side. It's MVP now,hipster spot I think. Years ago it was a right kip,McKenna's maybe,can't remember
Hickster74 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hickster74 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 8:57pm

Id say he means the other side. It's MVP now,hipster spot I think. Years ago it was a right kip,McKenna's maybe,can't remember

That's the one I think, was well dodgy looking.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 9:08pm

That's the one I think, was well dodgy looking.

My mate  lived very close to there but yah it's some crustie place now for arseholes that like paying 6 quid for some craft beer piss. 

Edited by irishmufc - 03 May 2017 at 9:09pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 9:25pm
Think it was the Glimerman back in the day

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lenny82 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 9:26pm

If you wouldn't venture in there, how do you know it's full of 'headers and bogeys'?

The only time I drank in that pub, one of the locals was selling disability car parking stickers and bus passes. I drove by the place every day for years on way home from work and the smoking area (Gardiner St side) used to have the same bogey looking heads every day. Looks like the kind of place you would put an order in with a shoplifter to stroke clothes and toys for the kids for Christmas!

Might be grand on match day or if there was a concert on but even at that, I wouldn't go near it!

Now it is probably 3 years since I've been near it so perhaps it's a lovely establishment now with Tapas on a Thursday and Jazz music on Monday nights!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote OnTheOneRoad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 9:33pm

If you wouldn't venture in there, how do you know it's full of 'headers and bogeys'?

The only time I drank in that pub, one of the locals was selling disability car parking stickers and bus passes. I drove by the place every day for years on way home from work and the smoking area (Gardiner St side) used to have the same bogey looking heads every day. Looks like the kind of place you would put an order in with a shoplifter to stroke clothes and toys for the kids for Christmas!

Might be grand on match day or if there was a concert on but even at that, I wouldn't go near it!

Now it is probably 3 years since I've been near it so perhaps it's a lovely establishment now with Tapas on a Thursday and Jazz music on Monday nights!

I'm from the area. Apparently it went under a change of ownership and whoever was previously barred are now the regulars LOL my old man drinks there occasionally and i'd know a few of the people in there but it wouldn't really be my kind of a spot, if as much because i'd be far younger than most of the clientele as any other reason. Havent really heard of any more trouble from it than the other local pubs though tbh

Edited by OnTheOneRoad - 03 May 2017 at 9:34pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GB 1HughJarse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 9:35pm

Not to mention Weight Watchers on Tuesday's and the Legion Of Mary on Wednesday's

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 9:36pm

Give me the former to the latter, cheap clothes and a few pints.ClapClapClap There are enough places doing jazz and tapas, you need proper pubs with a bit of edge.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rossieman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 9:54pm

That will probably all change when the new Luas line brings in a different crowd to the area.Is Marlborough St still very ran down ?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 9:57pm
These are the boozers you want to be drinking in.

Instead of some bar full of lads with short trousers, shoes, no socks, fake glasses, heavy beards, who are vegans and drinking craft beers and who have all decided to become homosexual for spring because it's in the in thing to do.

Playing pokemon with their poxy man bags.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rossieman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 10:03pm

Instead of some bar full of lads with short trousers, shoes, no socks, fake glasses, heavy beards, who are vegans and drinking craft beers and who have all decided to become homosexual for spring because it's in the in thing to do.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rossieman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 10:04pm
auld man boozer with good pints and a bookie within 100 yards is all thats needed Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 10:05pm

ClapLOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 10:13pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 10:23pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 10:27pm

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 49>