fooking car hire companies

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 12>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DG80 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 May 2010 at 11:44am

Originally posted by DG80 DG80 wrote:

Got raped today by alamo car hire. Was in london for a couple of days. Rented out some vauxhall at gatwick. I think it may have been a meriva. Anyway gave it the once over to see if any dents in it that were unreported. There werent so i drove off.  Dropped it back earlier today in perfect nick. Handed the keys to the alamo girl that inspects for new damage.  She looks at it and says there was a black bit of plastic missing from the boot door. I didnt know what she was on about. She then compares it to the same model car with the strip. Only then do i realise that my car  hadnt got the strip when i picked it up. You wouldnt cop that it was supposed to have one.  She said since i hadnt reported it they would have to charge me. They have charged me 600 ponds sterling for this and have already charged it to my credit card.Angry I can appeal but i will be turned down.  I was fooking furious. Its all a scam.  The thieving fookers!!!!!!!Angry

get onto icebhoy 05. he will tell how how to deal with car hire companies in englandWinkLOL

Why what did he do?LOL

its been mentioned a few times in the "your funniest moment on tour" thread

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 May 2010 at 1:45pm
Any recommendations for car hire stateside - prefer the well known ones but any preference

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote seaniemac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 May 2010 at 3:45pm

You know you could have just got Annual European Excess Insurance for only €64! That would have solved your problem!!

Is this true? Or are you sitting on a river bank?

http://www.insurance4carhire.com/

http://www.carhireinsurance4u.com/

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 3:38pm
I ended up getting €550 back after fighting this for months.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 3:46pm

Good man TJ, I think the thing with these bastards is to not give in and wear them down. Took me about 3 months (for a far lesser amount). Why did they give in in the end?

MintBerryCrunch View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MintBerryCrunch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 3:46pm

Fair play to ye, only seeing this now, horrible kunts!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 3:49pm

Can you elaborate on how did you get that money back?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sausy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 3:53pm

fair play trap.

but unfortunately you're probably an exception as most people wouldn't bother fighting that long to get their money back. If I were you I wouldn't give up until you got the rest back too.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 4:00pm
I booked thru a website called carhire 3000. After battling directly with alamo/europcar and getting no joy I just thought I'd ring up carhire3000 to see what they thought. Turns out when I booked the car I was covered for car excess insurance with car hire 3000 even though I hadnt taken out the insurance to remove the excess at the europcar desk when i picked up the car.  They gave europcar 28 days to show a repair invoice for the silver trim (even though i hadnt damaged a thing) and asked them how they can justify taking €637 from my account. So thats how I got a refund. I might go after the rest.

Edited by Trap junior - 27 Aug 2010 at 3:33am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 4:05pm

I booked thru a website called carhire 3000. After battling directly with europcar and getting no joy I just thought I'd ring up carhire3000 to see what they thought. Turns out when I booked the car I was covered for car excess insurance with car hire 3000 even though I hadnt taken out the insurance to remove the excess at the europcar desk when i picked up the car.  They gave europcar 28 days to show a repair invoice for the silver trim (even though i hadnt damaged a thing) and asked them how they can justify taking €637 from my account. So thats how I got a refund. I might go after the rest.

I thought it might some have something to do with fake drivers listed on he car insurance LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 4:40pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Mar 2015 at 10:36pm
I am going to Birmingham for 2 days in a couple of weeks time.  I booked through a company called 'Interrent' or 'Autoeurope'.  Anyone have any experience of these lads?  I took out full insurance but fooking hate car rental companies as they are frequently scammers who try to catch you out with tiny scratches etc..

Even with full insurance I am wary of these bastards.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob Hoskins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Mar 2015 at 10:41pm
Enterprise are the cheapest out there and you can get excellent deals, havent heard anyone complaining about them, we use them for getting a van for our golf sim.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Mar 2015 at 10:42pm
I rented a car last year in Italy and they gave me the keys and went through the car in good detail - the chassis was damaged underneath the car.

I went back in and told them and they marked it on the rental agreement, they could have nailed me proper if I hadn't of sussed it.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Mar 2015 at 10:45pm
Some of these cowboys are on commission to find damage I'm sure. Got done there 5 years back.  So I'm wary as f**k of these scheisters Horse.

Might have a look into Enterprise Bob.  Was googling Interrent and seems they have a shady reputation.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob Hoskins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Mar 2015 at 11:06pm
I think with Enterprise if you book it early its very cheap but if you try it last minute then it's a lot more expensive. I'll chat to the fellah I work with as he books it and drives so he'd know better

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Mar 2015 at 11:16pm

I rented a car last year in Italy and they gave me the keys and went through the car in good detail - the chassis was damaged underneath the car.

I went back in and told them and they marked it on the rental agreement, they could have nailed me proper if I hadn't of sussed it.

You slide under to have a looksie?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Mar 2015 at 11:25pm

I think with Enterprise if you book it early its very cheap but if you try it last minute then it's a lot more expensive. I'll chat to the fellah I work with as he books it and drives so he'd know better

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 12>