Ever selected for Jury Service?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 11>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 May 2013 at 7:28pm
bump

Went to jury service today. surprise surprise 2 out of 3 of the cases that were described before us by the prosecution were involving travellers.  i wasen't selected in the 3 juries for each of those cases so have to come back next week .i wouldnt mind as its interesting to see how it all works but I only got a temping admin job last week in Galway and i ve to ask them again for time off to go back to this. Im just wondering as its the recruitment agency paying me and not my employer, will they pay me for Jury duty? I feel bad asking them when Ive just got my foot in the door.

btw one of the cases is involving a traveller mother,father and daughter and the daughter is an absolute screw despite the unattractive onion ring style jewellery on her ears.Sorry lads cant do much about geting pics as Im not going to be on the Jury in her case but honestly she is a stunner.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 May 2013 at 11:14pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 2013 at 8:05am

was actually thinking about  that scene today when i was in court
GoneToShowgies View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GoneToShowgies Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 2013 at 6:05pm
Was asked before and the case was about a traveller who had tried to slice a mans neck with a bailing fork. I thought - no fecking way I'm going near that. Got called up and all. Just said I was in school with the defendant's cousin. 'You're excused'

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 2013 at 6:12pm

A certain poster on here once told me a story about getting out of it.

Turned up in a pair of trackies, a celtic jersey, a blackbomber jacket and as much gold jewellery as he could muster. The prosecution and the defence nearly fighting over who could object firstLOL

so horsebox wore his normal clothes then ?

EmbarrassedEmbarrassedEmbarrassed

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:25am
Just got called to the high court.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:27am

Come on admit it hb.You're a ra head Celtic fan.You must be the defendant

Only codding ya

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deco911 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:30am

Only codding ya
LOLLOLLOLLOL

Fintan View Drop Down
YBIG Mods are cool

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fintan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:32am
I got out of mine in Belfast by saying that I'd seen some people I recognised talking to their lawyers. It wouldn't be my cup of tea deciding someone's fate.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deco911 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:35am

Only codding ya
LOLLOLLOLLOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:35am

Only codding ya

2 out of 3

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 11:52am

Only codding ya

2 out of 3

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2013 at 1:01pm
Well, if it is the High Court (and not the Central Criminal Court) it will only be for defamation cases (more or less) or else possibly Garda compensation (for lads injured in the line of duty). I think those are about the only High Court jury cases.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2013 at 7:40pm

Well, if it is the High Court (and not the Central Criminal Court) it will only be for defamation cases (more or less) or else possibly Garda compensation (for lads injured in the line of duty). I think those are about the only High Court jury cases.

Boring

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jul 2013 at 4:58pm
Some publican from Roscommon has brought a local farmer to court because in 2003 the farmer said that the publicans nephew wanted them all dead so he could take his money .

There was nearly 70 people selected - about 20 didn't show up and 8 people got selected.

The E View Drop Down
Pm thE BSM your info

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The E Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 6:21pm
Got selected for Monday week. What's the process? Did people head into work if they didn't get picked each day?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Landon Donovan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 6:29pm
You'll be called into a big room in the four courts and given a number. You will watch the beginning of the trial (the charge etc) from CCTV. If your name is called out you go to the court room. The defence and prosecution can object to a certain number of people.  If they object I think you are free to go. 
The E View Drop Down
Pm thE BSM your info

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The E Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Nov 2013 at 6:43pm

You'll be called into a big room in the four courts and given a number. You will watch the beginning of the trial (the charge etc) from CCTV. If your name is called out you go to the court room. The defence and prosecution can object to a certain number of people.  If they object I think you are free to go. 

What if you're not called? Do you have to return every day of the week London?
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 11>