Euro '88 - 30 years on

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 5>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote baresi41 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 10:42am

Purely at a sporting level it was a fantastic day, we all know the drill - first timers, the auld enemy etc..

But for me it was a lot more than that. It was very emotional and very personal, the culmination and reward for the many generations of men who had supported the game through thick and thin throughout the country in spite of official Irelands prejudices. It was for all the kids who suffered physical abuse at school for playing the "foreign game". It was for the men who were "blacked" by their bosses at work because of their involvement with football. It was for the 23,000 who showed up at Dalymount in 1955 for the game against Yugoslavia despite the priests at mass on the morning of the match telling them not to attend. It was for the fellas who turned up to support Thurles Town and Newcastle West. 

I get a lump in my throat even thinking about that day. It's a day that i'll never forget as long as I breathe.

This. ClapClap

@irishmufc, I was behind the goal we scored just to the right of the goal as you look on telly.  I can still see Houghtons' mop of hair flopping after he heads the ball and the f**king eternity as we watched the ball arc into Shilton's far corner.

It wasn't over yet of course, we'd grown accustomed to linesmens' flags up until then, so once I saw the ref pointing to halfway and the linesman not flagging, the euphoria, explosion of ecstasy (no tablets then)  and sheer defiant celebration in scoring so early against fckn England was just amazing.

Never will be bettered I reckon.

Plus..  it was roasting at the game.Myself and a few others in a tent behind the stadium in a heap from a few days on the lash and heatstroke, funniest thing ever. Aprés match, we got police escorts out of town, as the ING-ER-LAND fans were running riot. Funtrek had about 6 coaches heading to Heidelberg if my memory serves me well. 

FW - remember the beggars collecting the empty bottles off the Irish fans and bringing them back to the shops where they got money off the returns. I'd say they drank for a week after we left each town.LOLLOL

FRANCO BARESI: Always supporting the green brigade

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gary McKay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 11:26am
Originally posted by JAVIER JAVIER wrote:

in that tournament  IRELAND PLAYED THE BEST  GAME I VE EVER SEEN IN  THE GREEN SHIRT ...WE OUTCLASSED  THE URSS...

WE SHOULD HAVE WON THE FIRST HALF....2/0  OR 3/0 ....

we  lined up   a  4-1-4-1  formation 

BONNER 

JOHN ANDERSON    KEVIN MORAN  MCCARTHY    HUGHTON 

RONNI WHELAN 

HOUGHTON                                   KEVIN SHEEDY           TONY GALVIN 

FRANK STAPLETON 

JOHN ALDRIDGE                   

in that  tourney we missed 3 of our best players   Liam Brady , Mark Lawrenson and Davy O'Leary
Uncorrect Javier mi amigo.

Chris Morris played right full.

McGrath was 'unavailable' which is why Sheedy played.

You are correct though, it was the best 70 minutes of football I've ever seen us play.
The Ukrainians were in awe of us.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gary McKay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 11:33am

It wasn't over yet of course, we'd grown accustomed to linesmens' flags up until then, so once I saw the ref pointing to halfway and the linesman not flagging, the euphoria, explosion of ecstasy (no tablets then)  and sheer defiant celebration in scoring so early against fckn England was just amazing. 
True.

There was a split second after the ball hit the back of the net when everyone looked at the linesman before going ballistic.

I was only a nipper but seeing grown men crying after the game made me realise what it was all about.

Funnily enough I knew we had a chance that day when I saw the Ingurland team sheet ;
Sansom instead of Pearce
Waddle instead of Steven
Webb instead of Hoddle

larraga View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote larraga Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 11:37am
Ye have me reminiscing now. We did the whole "Joxer goes to Stuttgart" thing, driving over in a mini-bus, camping etc. Behind the goal where Ray scored, unbelievable scenes, singing "Bobby Robson's on the Dole". Driving back to Heidelberg after the game, all the German cars beeping at our vans draped in Tricolours, One poor German took his eye off the road, he was getting so excited waving at us cos we beat the Brits and that pleased the Locals as much as us, that he crashed into the car in front of him.
Really we could have been trounced, but Packie and God looked after us that day.  

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote reddladd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:09pm
What brought ye to Heidelberg instead of staying in Stuttgart?

baresi41 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote baresi41 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:11pm

What brought ye to Heidelberg instead of staying in Stuttgart?

Scenery LOLLOL
larraga View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote larraga Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:23pm
Heidelberg only an hour away. Just wanted to avoid any trouble. The  scenery was nicer too.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gary McKay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:24pm
We stayed in Koblenz.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TonyNotJack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:30pm

I'm really Jealous of the people who made it to the match.

I've seen the goal 100's of times but actually not seen the whole match.

This (25min highlights) is the best I could find on youtube

Anybody have a link to the whole game?

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x3e8mcl
baresi41 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote baresi41 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:49pm

It was about 50-50.  Most Irish fans were in the end where we scored.  As FW said to the right of the main stand.  I don't know if north or south.

Still the best moment I've enjoyed supporting the national team.    Never tire of it.  Of the 13,000 there I've met about 150,000 of them now.  

Gary. Here's the behind the goal picture. England flags and fans in the distance. The stand over Aldo's head not sure if that's where the camera's were. Myself and the gang + FW were behind the goal Rayo scored into. Never said as many prayers in my life. Then rang the ma with the old Irish 5p's to tell her we survived.Wink

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREEWHEELER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:51pm
Originally posted by JAVIER JAVIER wrote:

in that tournament  IRELAND PLAYED THE BEST  GAME I VE EVER SEEN IN  THE GREEN SHIRT ...WE OUTCLASSED  THE URSS...

WE SHOULD HAVE WON THE FIRST HALF....2/0  OR 3/0 ....

we  lined up   a  4-1-4-1  formation 

BONNER 

JOHN ANDERSON    KEVIN MORAN  MCCARTHY    HUGHTON 

RONNI WHELAN 

HOUGHTON                                   KEVIN SHEEDY           TONY GALVIN 

FRANK STAPLETON 

JOHN ALDRIDGE                   

in that  tourney we missed 3 of our best players   Liam Brady , Mark Lawrenson and Davy O'Leary

Incorrect, Chris Morris played at right back, Anderson was sub.  O'Leary wasn't selected due to his row with Charlton.  Brady was suspended for the first two games (but then was injured anyhow), Lawro was injured also.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREEWHEELER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:57pm
Hoddle was outstanding when he came on and almost rescued England.  His volley from Beardsley's corner still almost haunts me, I was right behind the trajectory of a magnificent effort and it's heading toward the top corner, Bonner hasn't a chance in hell, but the last few feet it just tailed away, scorched the paint off the post, f**king shat it at that moment.

We knew it was our day however, Alan Keane (of Gerry Keane Wallpaper), biggest pessimist in history watching football (he should be, he's a Rovers and Leeds fan) piped up after an hour, "they'll never score".  We all looked at him WTF are you talking about, it's the f**king Alamo.  They didn't. LOL 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote reddladd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:57pm
Originally posted by baresi41 baresi41 wrote:

It was about 50-50.  Most Irish fans were in the end where we scored.  As FW said to the right of the main stand.  I don't know if north or south.

Still the best moment I've enjoyed supporting the national team.    Never tire of it.  Of the 13,000 there I've met about 150,000 of them now.  

Gary. Here's the behind the goal picture. England flags and fans in the distance. The stand over Aldo's head not sure if that's where the camera's were. Myself and the gang + FW were behind the goal Rayo scored into. Never said as many prayers in my life. Then rang the ma with the old Irish 5p's to tell her we survived.Wink

Based on match footage the camers's were definately the opposite of the ground to that stand!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote heighway2heaven Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 12:57pm
My first memory of International football. The aul lad had taken the old black n' white telly out the back garden to watch it, it was a blisteringly hot June afternoon in Dublin that day. I can still feel the heat and clearly hear the roars going up from all the estates and houses when the goal went in.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gary McKay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 1:05pm

Pubs in Dublin back then still closed between 2.30 and 4pm.

People stocked up and the doors were locked.

Not a hope in hell's chance would the Gardaí raid anywhere anyway.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 1:33pm
Stayed in Karlsruhe, Hameln and Dortmund.

The old one shilling coins came in very handy for smokesWink
baresi41 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote baresi41 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 1:48pm

Stayed in Karlsruhe, Hameln and Dortmund.

The old one shilling coins came in very handy for smokesWink - and for the following

Drinks machines, U&S Bahn kiosks and a certain letter that was banned from selling in Ireland at the time? I think all the Funtrek buses were full of them for the lads back home.LOLLOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gspain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2018 at 1:56pm

Purely at a sporting level it was a fantastic day, we all know the drill - first timers, the auld enemy etc..

But for me it was a lot more than that. It was very emotional and very personal, the culmination and reward for the many generations of men who had supported the game through thick and thin throughout the country in spite of official Irelands prejudices. It was for all the kids who suffered physical abuse at school for playing the "foreign game". It was for the men who were "blacked" by their bosses at work because of their involvement with football. It was for the 23,000 who showed up at Dalymount in 1955 for the game against Yugoslavia despite the priests at mass on the morning of the match telling them not to attend. It was for the fellas who turned up to support Thurles Town and Newcastle West. 

I get a lump in my throat even thinking about that day. It's a day that i'll never forget as long as I breathe.

Great post.  

It was one very much for the football people.  There was no "ole ole" brigade although Gelsenkirchen is the first time I recall ole ole being sung at an Irish game.  Big smile

It was one for those who were on their knees picking up pieces of glass from football goalmouths as the person responsible waved over the wall en route to Mass.  

It was a totally different country in the 1980's.  It was one for the London Irish as well who followed the team in huge numbers throughout the 80's without much to cheer.  

Although we qualified for the first time it was a low key build up.  Tickets were no problem (we got both semis and the final as well from the FAI).  The bandwagon only started for Italia 90.  

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 5>