![]() ![]() |
Cycling |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 789 |
Author | |||
Paulie ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 06 Jan 2010 Status: Offline Points: 2924 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
When I was a kid (12 or so) I got a notion to cycle to Slane. Myself and a few mates headed out from Finglas. I was grand with the padded saddle on the Raleigh Bomber but the lads with the BMX bikes were in bits. One of the lads had to take the next day off school because he could barely walk
![]() |
|||
![]() |
|||
Shedite ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Joined: 09 Dec 2011 Status: Online Points: 9731 |
||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Hotlips_Hoolahan ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Joined: 04 Aug 2020 Status: Offline Points: 6600 |
||
When I was about 5 or 6 my teacher chastised me for using the word "kid", saying it's a goat.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Sham157 ![]() Moderator Group ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 Jul 2009 Location: Monaghan/Dublin Status: Offline Points: 33113 |
||
![]() ![]() |
|||
![]() |
|||
Paulie ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 06 Jan 2010 Status: Offline Points: 2924 |
||
Absolutely. Kid at heart ![]() |
|||
![]() |
|||
counterlock ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() ![]() Joined: 07 Feb 2013 Status: Offline Points: 734 |
||
I've gone back to cycling with a greenway opening this summer and borrowed a friend's mountain bike and was blown after about 3km. Bought a road bike after a few weeks and did the same cycle no bother but the same as yourself, the arse was in bits. It took about 3 weeks for the arse to get used to it, but the road bike makes any sort of distance much easier.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Huggybeer ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 2011 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 1387 |
||
Grab a cheap pair of padded shorts next time in aldi or lidl, you be amazed the difference they make,, can throw a pair of normal shorts on over them, to avoid going on a register :)
|
|||
Getting old and intolerant
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Denis Irwin ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() Stay Home & watch Lethal Weapon Joined: 03 Feb 2008 Location: Ath Cliath Status: Offline Points: 37689 |
||
2024 Tour de France to finish with a final stage Time Trial in Nice
Will be the first time in 35 years since LeMond snatched the Yellow jersey from Fignon by 8 seconds in the 1989 Tour that the final stage will be a time trial
Edited by Denis Irwin - 01 Dec 2022 at 11:11pm |
|||
Bill O'Herlihy: Ah ye can't be saying that now Eamonn |
|||
![]() |
|||
King_Kenny ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 31 Aug 2019 Location: Claudy Status: Offline Points: 2278 |
||
Ben Healy wins stage in the Giro. Have to say hadn’t heard of him.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
GoneToShowgies ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() ![]() Joined: 28 Jul 2010 Status: Offline Points: 3928 |
||
Born in UK but his father has Irish connection.
I had the stage on the TV so kept an eye on it. 200km and he blew them away. On the front a lot to sustain the breakaway and rode the last 50 on his own flying up hills when group behind were finding it tough going. It was so good a performance it would make you wonder was he having some 'assistance'. Only 22 years old so fair play to him.
|
|||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 789 |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |