Courier a pallet to Canada

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Artie Ziff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Courier a pallet to Canada
    Posted: 12 Apr 2021 at 10:40am
Struggling to find good options of sending over a small pallet there. Any ybiggers that live/d there any suggestions? 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2021 at 11:30am
DHL ?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sausy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2021 at 12:36pm
I watched Cast Away on Netflix last night so would avoid FedEx.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Artie Ziff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2021 at 1:33pm

DHL ?

A friend ships to the uk/Europe from time to time, and he tried looking for for me but got nowhere, but he was saying the last quote to North America was about €1300, these ain't big huge pallets or anything. Usual size max height 6-8ft. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2021 at 1:39pm
Originally posted by Artie Ziff Artie Ziff wrote:

DHL ?

A friend ships to the uk/Europe from time to time, and he tried looking for for me but got nowhere, but he was saying the last quote to North America was about €1300, these ain't big huge pallets or anything. Usual size max height 6-8ft. 
Size is a big one for sure , take a look at what you require as 20 mil too high and you would be taking up the space of two pallets and then charged for it .
Lads at work ship everyday and it has to be a certain size to fit in a plane or a container .
If you really need what you are shipping then you will have to pay for it now if you can buy what you need in Canada it will work out cheaper in the long run .

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Artie Ziff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2021 at 1:44pm
It has to be shipped unfortunately. I just assumed this would be a simple enough thing to do Pinch
kevjreilly View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevjreilly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2021 at 2:33pm
try  Rhenus or IPS
Read it 3 times before posting

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2021 at 2:53pm
Mick McCarthy is yer man to ask about sending containers halfway around the world

Edited by Trap junior - 12 Apr 2021 at 2:54pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colemanY2K Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2021 at 3:46pm
Get in touch with a freight forwarder. This is their bread and butter. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Artie Ziff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2021 at 4:59pm
Originally posted by kevjreilly kevjreilly wrote:

try  Rhenus or IPS

Thanks 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Artie Ziff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2021 at 5:00pm

Get in touch with a freight forwarder. This is their bread and butter. 

I would have never googled that term and a lot of options came up Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShamtheRam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2021 at 6:01pm
Originally posted by Artie Ziff Artie Ziff wrote:

DHL ?

If you're looking to air freight it over. I'd advise you to try break it down a bit smaller as the max height for standard planes is 5 foot. Anything higher you have a specialised cargo plane and you pay through the nose.

As the lads said though, a decent freight forwarder sorts this easy. Should be under the grand mark if you get the pallet height down.