Cost of going PL match

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 14>

Poor Man's Duncan Castles

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Siralex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 1:19pm
See my post above mate, the pople can not be blamed for not liking something they don't like.  It's as simple as that!

Nobody should and nobody can tell somebody which team/band/singer/actor/charity/foundation etc etc to support.  It'll never be that way.

I admire people that support their local teams - fair play to them.  I'd never tell anyone who they should support!

If I keep writing enough hagiographic articles on Man Utd, they might give me a job

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shoco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 1:26pm
Originally posted by Siralex Siralex wrote:

See my post above mate, the pople can not be blamed for not liking something they don't like.  It's as simple as that!

Nobody should and nobody can tell somebody which team/band/singer/actor/charity/foundation etc etc to support.  It'll never be that way.

I admire people that support their local teams - fair play to them.  I'd never tell anyone who they should support!

to not like something you have to give it a chance in the first place! how many EPL do you think fans write off the LOI without ver going to a game? an awful lot i reckon

its just the nature of people in this country, if its not man utd or liverpool then lets be honest, they down wanna know about it, even the attraction of celtic (dont see the attraction of it meself) didnt even half fill lansdowne at the weekend

Chopra Gunner View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chopra Gunner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 1:50pm
In fairness you're under no obligation to buy a programme, pie or a cup of tea at a match.
What are you looking at?
Ireland4ever View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ireland4ever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 3:12pm
Why do some  LOI fans get so worked up over what other people do? Its cringe.
Spend the time energy on suporting your own team.
sullo-bohs View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sullo-bohs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 3:20pm
Originally posted by Ireland4ever Ireland4ever wrote:

Fans get worked up because they can't understand how some football fans don't follow their OWN country's teams. Nothing worse than to hear fans sl*g each other saying "ah you shut up ye manc ****" or "ye scouse scumbag" when they are Irish, it's ridiculous. If you follow football then go watch all football, never know, you might enjoy yourself.
eire32 View Drop Down
xHamster's Free Porn Videos

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eire32 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 3:25pm
Thats all ok if you have a local LOI to support...
sullo-bohs View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sullo-bohs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 3:30pm
Fair enough but take Dublin which has over 1 million people, and with 5 clubs can muster just less than 10,000 fans a weekend.

I just think the Irish public has made their mind up and choosed not to follow the LOI, if the league was scrapped tomorrow majority of people wouldn't care whereas if Wayne Rooney scratched his toe it would be front page news.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote seaniemac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 3:30pm
Originally posted by sullo-bohs sullo-bohs wrote:

Fans get worked up because they can't understand how some football fans don't follow their OWN country's teams. Nothing worse than to hear fans sl*g each other saying "ah you shut up ye manc ****" or "ye scouse scumbag" when they are Irish, it's ridiculous. If you follow football then go watch all football, never know, you might enjoy yourself.
What difference is that than a bogger Bohs fan being called a northside skobie or a Wicklow shamrock rovers fan being called a tallaght knacker?!
Again, I'll say this, most "barstoolers" I know have been at LOI games. The fact that they didn't like it is lost on some LOI fans and that mentality also puts people off. It's like some Irish Celtic fans not understanding the fact that some Irish football fans couldn't give a damn if they win, lose or draw.
Ireland4ever View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ireland4ever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 3:31pm

I couldnt give a sh*te what the next man in the street supports/watches or listens to, mainly because its got absolutely nothing got to do wit me, its his/her choice what they choose to have an interest in. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sono Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 3:50pm
Tried LOI didn't like it and moved on, shyte facilities, shyte standard and no atmosphere, simples as that, I would rather spend a couple of hundred euro to head to a Baracelona or Real match simply cos I enjoy watching good standard of football, simple as that and fair play to people for supporting their local team but it means nothing to me as I think it's brutal to watch and I have been to many games before people attack.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shoco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 3:53pm

Tried LOI didn't like it and moved on, shyte facilities, shyte standard and no atmosphere, simples as that, I would rather spend a couple of hundred euro to head to a Baracelona or Real match simply cos I enjoy watching good standard of football, simple as that and fair play to people for supporting their local team but it means nothing to me as I think it's brutal to watch and I have been to many games before people attack.

no villa?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sono Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 4:02pm
I have in the past Shoco, it doesn't cost a lot to get over to Villa games and to be honest I only go when the flights are reasonable, would never pay more than about 60 return, and when I do go I make weekend of it and I don't spend that much more than if I was at home all weekend as booze is an awful lot cheaper in England.

Edited by Sono - 02 Aug 2011 at 4:03pm
Siralex View Drop Down

Poor Man's Duncan Castles

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Siralex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 4:04pm

Fair enough but take Dublin which has over 1 million people, and with 5 clubs can muster just less than 10,000 fans a weekend.

I just think the Irish public has made their mind up and choosed not to follow the LOI, if the league was scrapped tomorrow majority of people wouldn't care whereas if Wayne Rooney scratched his toe it would be front page news.

Don't you understand that what you're saying doesn't add up?

You are telling people what they should do and how they should do it.  What they should be saying to you is f**k right off!

It's the equivalent of me saying to you "Don't buy Kings Of Leon albums, buy Westlife albums." or "Don't eat Marks And Spencers crisps, buy Dunnes Stores'."

How much of a knob would I sound if I said those things to you?

People will buy in to what they want to buy in to, and if you think your life is better because you do A and not B, you still have no right whatsoever to preach to someone else that they should do A.

It always has been and always is a non-argument.  League Of Ireland fans sl*g fans of clubs outside Ireland and so forth, but it genuinely goes in one ear and out the other.  It doesn't mean anything to anyone.  Fans of other clubs outside Ireland don't sl*g LOI fans, they let them get on with what they wanna get on with.  The argument is insignificant to them - it doesn't even register as a point!

If I keep writing enough hagiographic articles on Man Utd, they might give me a job

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shoco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 4:08pm
no ones telling them what they can or cant do, we just find it hard to understand why people who are football fans would support a foreign league at the expense of their own

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sono Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 4:09pm
End of the day book stops with FAI who have squandered millions instead of reinvesting in development of the league and for that reason alone I have no sympathy for them whatsoever, said it before and I will say it again, FAI should look at the GAA as an organization and see how well that is run, an awful lot better and that's not my opinion that's a fact.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shoco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 4:11pm
the FAI have only been running the league since 2006

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote seaniemac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 4:13pm

no ones telling them what they can or cant do, we just find it hard to understand why people who are football fans would support a foreign league at the expense of their own

Cos when you are six or seven you don't know borders or when an uncle or your dad gets you a united/Liverpool/Sheffield Wednesday top, you tend to start following that club too.

Plus a lot of you lads seem to think theres a LOI club in close proximity to everyone, they are not

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shoco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2011 at 4:14pm
impretty sure there one close than liverpool manchester or london!

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 14>