![]() ![]() |
Cheltenham 2018 |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345 9> |
Author | |||
JimmyRabbitte ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Oct 2007 Status: Offline Points: 749 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Cheers lads. Will put up what I hear tomorrow!!
|
|||
Lois: Peter, what did you promise me?
Peter: That I wouldn't drink at the stag party. Lois: And what did you do? Peter: Drank at the stag pa-- ... Whoa. I almost walked into that one. |
|||
![]() |
|||
Roberto Baggio ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() UNBELIEVABLE JEFF Joined: 28 Jan 2010 Status: Offline Points: 36329 |
||
Anyone else been to any other preview nights? Any details from them? |
|||
![]() |
|||
Borussia ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Oct 2010 Location: UK Status: Offline Points: 9614 |
||
Haven't had time to post up what I picked up on Tuesday. Will do it when I get a chance.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
rossieman ![]() Roy Keane ![]() ![]() Joined: 01 Apr 2011 Status: Offline Points: 14254 |
||
They are a bit of craic but that's about it.
As Alistair Down told a mate of mine "Cheltenham is a week of drinking and guessing". |
|||
![]() |
|||
Double Maxim ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Sep 2008 Location: Sunderland Status: Offline Points: 41765 |
||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
HuntysCousin ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 2011 Location: Waterford Status: Offline Points: 5241 |
||
If the ground doesn't dry out by Tuesday, it might be worth putting a couple of quid each way on Yala Enki in the Ultima. He absolutely hammered Blaklion, who is one of the favs for the Grand National, on heavy ground there last month, so the conditions could work in his favour next week.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
GUFC_Andy ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 15 Oct 2016 Status: Offline Points: 1088 |
||
Who’s everyone going for in the Supreme? If Getabird drifts out to 2/1 then I’ll back him but otherwise don’t fancy anything in it
|
|||
Don't ban me for no reason, please.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
HuntysCousin ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 2011 Location: Waterford Status: Offline Points: 5241 |
||
I have Getabird backed, but I have a few quid each way on Kalashnikov too. Hes had a very good season so far
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Borussia ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Oct 2010 Location: UK Status: Offline Points: 9614 |
||
Loads of specials with the bookies so will be opposing Getabird : Think I'll end up with Mengli Khan each way.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
||
Would you not be put off by how the Moscow Flyer went?
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Pat power ![]() Alan Kernaghan ![]() ![]() Joined: 18 Mar 2013 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 106 |
||
Mengli khan jasus couldn't have it I spoke with Ruby a few days ago and they think the world of Getabird and he said the plan is to go out and make every post a winning one and make all,good luck with your bet though |
|||
![]() |
|||
Green Devil ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() Aye Kes, I've pissed me-self again Joined: 06 Oct 2010 Location: Barbados Status: Offline Points: 22173 |
||
I still haven't backed one horse ante post for Cheltenham.
I'm getting a lot of joy backing in the football lately so have been trying to stay away from backing horses so I suppose that's the main reason. Apples Jade and Buveur DAir double (extremely boring selection) is probably the one decent bet I'll have Tuesday, I'll probably be kicking myself that I didn't hammer Footpad or Getabird if/when either or both romp home but that's the joys of gambling, no point giving out after the event. In saying that when the rush hits and you're nearing the off in the first few races, it's hard to not get involved.
|
|||
Eamonn Dunphy on Glenn Whelan |
|||
![]() |
|||
JimmyRabbitte ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Oct 2007 Status: Offline Points: 749 |
||
Didn't get a chance to go to the one in D2 but watched a few over the weekend and put this together. Probably too much but Hey!
13:30 – Supreme Novices Hurdle Felt it isn’t the strongest of races and Getabird is the worst priced favourite Getabird, very little experience, has only won when running right handed and is unknown how he will handle left side. Feels that the softer the ground the better Kalashnikov – Has the strongest form going in and was described as a monster. Sharjah – Bad form going into the race but good talent, if gets it right won’t be stopped getting into the places E/W Chances Summerhill Boy Paloma Blue Claimantakinforgan Identity Thief Melon 14:10 – Arkle Challenge Feels will be a very face race that will go at a good gallop Footpad – Feel is too short a price but is an exceptional jumper Petit Mouchoir – Good horse but tends to hit a lot if fences when jumping Saint Calvados – Reduced field hampers e/w shot but soft ground may push into top 2 Brain Power – New jockey on board and will get a better ride. Has the most ability and wind op will help 14:50 – Ultima Handicap No previews – Horses mentioned Coo Star Sivola Gold Present Singlefarmpayment] 15:30 – Champion Hurdle Recommended Bet W/O Favourite. Mentioned that there was a rumour of something going on in Willie Mullins yard at Christmas which resulted in poor results Buveur Air – Probable winner across the board, mentioned as unbeatable Wicklow Brave –Good e/w chance, bet without favourite Faugheen – good horse but possibly too old and not the same as past. Ricci stated that was showing signs of getting the spark back My Tent or Yours – Loves Cheltenham and is expected to run it’s same solid race Yorkhill – Showing signs of disinterest in training. No faith in the horse 16:10 – Mares Hurdle Apples Jade – Only negative is no run since Christmas, prefers dry ground but will be very hard to beat Benie Des Dieux – Will run a good race but might not have enough to challenge Jade E/W Chance – Gers Girl 16:50 – National Hunt Challenge No preview of race – Horses mentioned No Comment Jury Duty Duel At Dawn 17:30 – Close Brothers Novice No preview of race – Horses mentioned Any Second Now Testify Barney Dwan Da Plotting Shed Wednesday 14th March 13:30 – Ballymore Novices Hurdle Samcro – Felt to be the best young horse in either England or Ireland, the real deal and future Gold Cup winner Black Op – Feels a very good horse but needs good ground, good e/w shot On The Blindside – Worries about how will handle the home straight of Cheltenham Next Destination – Feels will be two short a price to warrant a bet 14:10 – RSA Insurance Novices Chase Felt it was a wide open race Presenting Percy – has been oddly campaigned on the run up to Cheltenham. Has great natural ability, likes the heavier ground Black Corton – Felt overpriced, stated route to Cheltenham in the summer and has been getting better Monalee – Unsure if will go here or JLT but will go close EW Chances Ballyoptic (Felt very overpriced) Elegant Escape Invitation Only Al Boum Photo 14:50 – Coral Cup No preview of race – Horses mentioned Deal D’estruval Le Breuill 15:30 – Queen Mother Chase If Ruby decides to ride Min, Douvan will not run. Douvan looks fit and ready. If runs has a great chance Compare Altior to Sprinter Sacre, deserves to be favourite Doesn’t think that Min has much of a chance Charbel – Repaired a fault in back and looks good in training. Good EW shot 16:10 – Cross Country Chase No mention of any horses 16:50 – Fred Winter Juvenile No preview of race – Horses mentioned Act of Valour Style De Garde 17:30 – Champion Bumper No preview of race – Horses mentioned Blackbow Rhinestone Thursday 15th March 13:30 – JLT Novice Chase Wide Open....Willie Mullins horse a likely winner Benatar – Has some niggling issues going into the race Testify – Decent form coming in, has been winning easily. Huge Price Modus – Good jumper, quick over fences, think pretty sweet Monalee – Great horse, would be crazy not to run as feels is easiest race to win Finians Oscar – Possibly most talented horse in race but prefers hurdles to fences 14:10 – Pertemps No preview of race – Horses mentioned Louis Vac Pouch Beer Googles La Breuil 14:50 – Ryanair Chase Un De Seaux– Expected to win the race again comfortably, soft ground suits, if good to soft could be troubled Cue Card – Trip suits better than last outing 12 year old, too old Balko De Flos – Biggest opposition for UDS Sub Lieutenant - if runs has a great chance 15:30 – Stayers Hurdle Wide open race Supasundae – Not a strong finisher, concerns course and distance, better jumper than last time Sam Spinner – Careful to mind, kink in temperament, possible superstar if stays focused. Will stay Yanworth – Changing back back to hurdles Penhill – Rumours Bloom is looking to book box for this day. Wouldn’t do it if didn’t think had a chance YKWIMH – Expected to run better this time out, has every chance EW Chances Let’s Dance L’ami Serge 16:10 – Brown Advisory No preview of race – Horses mentioned Tully East Mr. Whittaker Le Prezian 16:50 – Mares Novice Laurina – Possibly the best favourite at the festival 17:30 – Kim Muir No preview of race – Horses mentioned Road to Riches Friday 16th March 13:30 – Triumph Hurdle Apples Shakira – Short price but hasn’t done much to warrant it Stormy Ireland – Can’t trust the horst, will either win or will be pulled up Farclass – Expected to run a good race, single figures expected on the day Also Mentioned Mr. Adjudicator Soulier Look My Way 14:10 – County Handicap Hurdle No preview of race – Horses mentioned D’eal D’Estruval Flying Tiger Ivanovich Garbatov 14:50 – Albert Bartlett Winner will not be the best horse but a horse that has plenty of expertise. Horses can get lost Chef Des Obeaux Mister Whipped Calett Mad 15:30 – Gold Cup Might Bite – A headbanger but best horse in the race. Rally soft does not suit and might struggle Djackadam – On his day has a chance but might have had his day Our Duke – Overpriced, is a mini Denman and if Robbie Power is on board worth a punt Road to Riches – Big Step up but a previous winner at Festival – Needs good ground Native River – On a nice comeback, needs soft ground, Not out of the running 16:10 – Foxhunter Chase No preview of race – Horses mentioned Horses Mentioned Foxrock Caid Du Berlais Pacha Du Polder 16:50 – Martin Pipe No preview of race – Horses mentioned Diese Des Bieffes Duc Des Genievres 17:30 – Grand Annual No preview of race – Horses mentioned Don’t Touch It Vaniteaux Other Horses Mentioned but unknown Races Diego Du Charmil Dingo Dollar |
|||
Peter: That I wouldn't drink at the stag party. Lois: And what did you do? Peter: Drank at the stag pa-- ... Whoa. I almost walked into that one. |
|||
![]() |
|||
Roberto Baggio ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() UNBELIEVABLE JEFF Joined: 28 Jan 2010 Status: Offline Points: 36329 |
||
Identity Thief and Melon won't be in this race. Melon ran in the SN last year and IT hasn't been a novice in years. Aside from that, they've pretty much named the first 6 in the market there, so not telling us much. I think this is a very hard race to call and a tricky opener
|
|||
![]() |
|||
||
Suppose that's the problem when you watch 4 or 5 different previews,everyone has an opinion! Hopefully it helps a few out eitherway!
|
|||
|||
![]() |
|||
Gigibongi33 ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() ![]() Joined: 13 Feb 2016 Location: Dublin Status: Offline Points: 450 |
||
The Racing Post just tweeted that Douvan will go in the Champion Chase with Ruby on board
https://twitter.com/RacingPost/status/973137108637450241?s=19 |
|||
![]() |
|||
kingofkings ![]() Davey Langan ![]() ![]() Going to a 'Bigger Club' next season Joined: 27 Mar 2007 Status: Offline Points: 774 |
||
Give the lad some credit, looks to be a fair amount of work put in!
Cheers Jimmy
|
|||
![]() |
|||
||
Yes of course, good preview alright Jimmy and good notes taken about each race. Was just pointing out that those two wouldn't be in the Supreme
|
|||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345 9> |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |