Cheltenham 2014

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 26>
Makes great Pancakes

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WindBag Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Cheltenham 2014
    Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 5:48am
Lads,
Anyone on here who has been to Chelt, what tkts ya reckon I should go for?
I see Tattersalls, Best Mate, Guiness etc...

Its my first time... and want to get a tkt that gives me decent enough access where I can see finishing line andnear bookies/bar!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RogerMilla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 6:57am
club enclosure, 85 quid and worth every penny , you are on the finish line , can see the big screen and easy acces to the bars, its a scrum for the bookies but you can pop out to the tote easy enough
WindBag View Drop Down
Makes great Pancakes

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WindBag Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 7:10am
Do you get access to other areas or are you limited to one area  with that tkt?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RogerMilla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 7:33am
Originally posted by WindBag WindBag wrote:

Do you get access to other areas or are you limited to one area  with that tkt?

you can get in anywhere on that side of the track , all the way down to the guinness village , into the paddock as well , no restrictions at all.

i normally watch the races up to the gold cup at the finish line and then watch the last 3 races down the guinness village.

WindBag View Drop Down
Makes great Pancakes

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WindBag Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 7:40am
Good Lad....

Dino Baggio View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dino Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 11:29am
Club tickets would be the ones you want, however theyre fairly expensive if you're going for the week

there's 6 of us going again for the week, each day we've bought 2 club tickets and the rest tattersalls ones, we'll just send 2 in with the tickets and let one person come back with them and get another in a so on
WindBag View Drop Down
Makes great Pancakes

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WindBag Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 12:18pm
nice idea....

Arriving over on da Tuesday myself  from Dubai... first time there.
My mates aint coming over until the Thursday, waiting for another lad to confirm he is goin first two days.... I may be trying to seek you out Dino...otherwise I am Billy no mates!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dino Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 12:23pm

nice idea....

Arriving over on da Tuesday myself  from Dubai... first time there.
My mates aint coming over until the Thursday, waiting for another lad to confirm he is goin first two days.... I may be trying to seek you out Dino...otherwise I am Billy no mates!

No bother, i arrive on the Monday and leave on the saturday, did the week last year for the first time, its unreal!! very VERY tough going but you just have to suck it up, where you staying? there does be a great buzz around the place on the monday
WindBag View Drop Down
Makes great Pancakes

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WindBag Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 12:40pm
Staying in Birmingham I think...Hilton on broad street.
Gonna have to commute in and out but thats what other lads said is best thing to do..
daboi89 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daboi89 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 1:25pm
ye club is the best, always go Tattersalls or club,best mate is in the middle of the track and its sh*te. if you get tattersalls tickets its grand, u can pick up a club badge outside off a tout for around 20/30 pound, well worth it
daboi89 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daboi89 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 1:25pm

Gonna have to commute in and out but thats what other lads said is best thing to do..

did it last year. 37 mins from birmingham new street to cheltenham spa. It was over 20 pound for the train tho

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dino Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 1:53pm
Originally posted by daboi89 daboi89 wrote:

did it last year. 37 mins from birmingham new street to cheltenham spa. It was over 20 pound for the train tho
The actual journeys isnt bad but Birmingham is dead bar the Rocket Club on Broad street Wink

irish_major View Drop Down
Bookie Slayer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irish_major Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 4:33pm
Heading over tuesday to thursday myself! Have the club tickets got!
WindBag View Drop Down
Makes great Pancakes

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WindBag Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 5:06pm
Nice one IM...deffo owe ya a pint I promised in the last year or two..

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Max Power Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2014 at 5:12pm
Heading over weds - sat myself, second time going over. Absolutely mental week I had the last time.

I'd try even get one night in the town itself Windbag, the craic at night time is every bit as good as the racing itself!
WindBag View Drop Down
Makes great Pancakes

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WindBag Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Feb 2014 at 6:18am

Going to book those club tkts then...fook it...

Max, you talking about Cheltenham town? is accom available there? where do ye stay, Bristol, Brummy?
irish_major View Drop Down
Bookie Slayer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irish_major Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Feb 2014 at 7:53am
Next thing is how are we going to make money? I've said it before and I'll say it again. Annie power for the world hurdle. I think and hope, that they're going for that. Double up with faugheen maybe.
WindBag View Drop Down
Makes great Pancakes

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WindBag Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Feb 2014 at 7:56am
IM....as previously highlighted, Ricci, and great interview on ATR the other day, does want the Champion Hurdle...BUT I think he is now going to allow Willie to cast the vote.

Don't forget Annie has not gone more than 2m 4.5f....but is expected to stay 3m...

I think placing in Champ Hurdle is better than not staying 3m
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 26>