![]() ![]() |
Car Insurance |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345 23> |
Author | ||
Shoco ![]() Roy Keane ![]() ![]() Hail Hail the Celts are here Joined: 14 Dec 2008 Location: Celthick Park Status: Offline Points: 13727 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
As a cyclist, this comes up regularly!
|
||
![]() ![]() YOUR 3 IN A ROW LEAGUE CHAMPIONS |
||
![]() |
||
Green Devil ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() Aye Kes, I've pissed me-self again Joined: 06 Oct 2010 Location: Barbados Status: Offline Points: 22173 |
|
Ended up shelling out €3,000 (passed my full test eventually)
![]() A 2 litre Jaguar probably didn't do me any favours but still it's madness to think insurance costs so much!
|
||
Eamonn Dunphy on Glenn Whelan |
||
![]() |
||
McG ![]() Moderator Group ![]() ![]() SISAO? What the hell is SISAO? Joined: 27 Jan 2008 Location: Christmas Island Status: Offline Points: 26531 |
|
f**k sake
![]() Whats the tax like?
|
||
AS YOU WERE McGx |
||
![]() |
||
horsebox ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() Born n bred in darndale. Joined: 03 Feb 2010 Location: Ireland Status: Online Points: 34105 |
|
780e
![]() My tax and insurance is up at the same time - pain in the hoop. |
||
When the devil got a hold of me, He wouldn't set me free, So he kept me soul for ransom. na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na. I'm a sailor man from Glasgow to |
||
![]() |
||
Hans Moleman ![]() Roy Keane ![]() ![]() Muff: That is a lie and you are a liar Joined: 09 Aug 2012 Status: Offline Points: 10199 |
|
3 grand
![]() |
||
![]() |
||
Guest ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 22 Jun 2014 Status: Offline Points: 2120 |
|
Hoping to get insured this week on a 1.4 petrol golf or corolla
Lost my no claims Who's the cheapest, any recommendations? |
||
![]() |
||
ThrowInDelap ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 30 Sep 2009 Status: Offline Points: 1579 |
|
Got quoted 25% more than last year (without claims etc)
Lad on the phone said this is the norm in the market, is this true or is he talking pony? |
||
If time's a drug, then Big Ben is a huge needle injecting it into the sky.
|
||
![]() |
||
bhob ![]() Roy Keane ![]() YBIGs Donald Trump Joined: 13 Feb 2009 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 10470 |
|
Mine went up too and no claims. It's a joke of a system.
|
||
![]() |
||
Trap junior ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() YBIG Minister of Doom & Gloom Joined: 25 Jan 2010 Location: Irish Riviera Status: Offline Points: 38440 |
|
Paid just over 700 for 3rd party fire and theft insurance. Was 540 last year. Was lucky to get it for 700 too. Shopped around and got quotes from 800-1000+.
I have a full licence 15 years and no points, full no claims bonus for donkeys years. Then paid 600+ on tax. Have the NCT in a few weeks which will no doubt set me back a grand when they find some reason to fail it. |
||
97.6% chance this post will be replied to by Baldrick (source: PWC) |
||
![]() |
||
Bob Hoskins ![]() Moderator Group ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Jul 2007 Status: Offline Points: 20175 |
|
Insurance has jumped massively this year. Why is that?
|
||
|
||
![]() |
||
SuperDave84 ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ooh Thomas, how could you do this to me! Joined: 26 Aug 2011 Location: Far Fungannon Status: Offline Points: 21384 |
|
It's not claims, anyway. The amount paid out in 2014 was 36% less than the amount in 2011, and I don't think it has come back up again.
It's related to their loss making in trying to gain market share by undercutting one another, plus the fact the MIBI had to take on the losses of Setanta Insurance. Not sure what the deal is with Quinn/Liberty as well and whether that is having an effect too. |
||
![]() |
||
![]() |
||
Shedite ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Joined: 09 Dec 2011 Status: Offline Points: 9735 |
|
2% of your premium goes to paying off the debts of Quinn insurance every year until 2037!
Setanta will add more though it hasn't been added on yet. Our premiums are going up because of lads like these
|
||
![]() |
||
colmoc ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() serious foot fetish Joined: 09 Feb 2009 Status: Offline Points: 7567 |
|
Renewed mine last week. Was 620 last year and 980 this year.
I got a quote from every crowd I could think of. An post insurance beat the cheapest quote by €200. Definitely worth a call |
||
![]() |
||
eire77 ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() Joined: 08 May 2012 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 2993 |
|
That may be true but what's also true is that since Quinn has left the market the insurance cartels have consistently and without valid explanation exponentially increased insurance premiums. |
||
|
||
![]() |
||
Hickster74 ![]() Davey Langan ![]() ![]() Joined: 20 Oct 2015 Location: Depends Status: Offline Points: 931 |
|
I'm starting to think the same. My renewal was up 40%. Other quotes were still 30% more and after an increase last year too. The levies for failed insurance companies are nowhere near this. It's easier to just jack up the policies than to investigate accidents and challenge costs. In fairness to Quinn, before he lost the run of himself, he spent money on staff to do this properly and reduce premiums. Edited by Hickster74 - 09 Aug 2016 at 12:09am |
||
"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."
|
||
![]() |
||
Sham157 ![]() Moderator Group ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 Jul 2009 Location: Monaghan/Dublin Status: Offline Points: 33115 |
|
Flicking channels last night and there was a doc on UTV about Insurance. Cited a number of factors for rising premiums such as the collapse of other insurers, claims here being higher in comparison to say in England (whiplash here is 15K whereas England is 5K average).
Obviously the Insurers lobby group almost blamed claims alone where as other bodies including Government Departments cited profitability. Mentions also as mentioned above, that Insurers were trying to gain larger market shares that for a few years they werent charging people enough and we're paying for that now, aided by the exit from the market of a number of companies. They spoke to a number of case examples, a 30 something male from Athlone, a taxi company from Limerick and a haulier from somewhere else, and some of the rises were crazy and to any logical person unjustifiable. IIRC, 15k for a fleet of 8 taxis up to 57k.
|
||
![]() |
||
Shedite ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Joined: 09 Dec 2011 Status: Offline Points: 9735 |
|
How would people feel about giving their Facebook profiles to insurers to show you should be getting cheaper insurance (ie prove you're not a boy racer)....
|
||
![]() |
||
drog addict ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Castleknocker Joined: 21 Oct 2008 Location: Sunnyvale Status: Offline Points: 6821 |
|
Got quoted €1412 today
![]() |
||
|
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345 23> |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |