Best town in Ireland for a stag

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 11>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Huggybeer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Best town in Ireland for a stag
    Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 2:11pm
Lads is there any need to leave these shores for a Stag party?
Which town are you most likely not to get arrested in, whilst sinking to the lower levels of depravity?

Recommendations, previous experience all welcome

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Green Devil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 2:13pm
Carlow on a Saturday night Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote deco911 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 2:32pm
ARAN ISLANDS IS THE ONLY JOB FOR THIS
Huggybeer View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Huggybeer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 2:46pm
lads a few reasons why wouldent go a miss..

i didnt know there was a hooters in the Arans or carlow

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 2:51pm
Dublin.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Green Devil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:11pm
Originally posted by Huggybeer Huggybeer wrote:

The Foundry is one of Leinster's premier nightclubs in terms of size and reputation, it's packed every Saturday night without fail. 

Tullow Street is the golden mile of pubs in Carlow Town Centre, basically there are 10+ pubs along the strip whether it's on the left or right side of the road. There is also a Casino that stays open until 6.00 am every morning, so you'll find no shortage of getting a late drink down there.

Carpenters, Reddys, Raceys and Teach Dolmain (great dinner menu too) are at the top of the strip, these pubs are classic old school bars where some of the best pints in Carlow are served.

As you walk further down into the Town Centre, you will see The Med Bar and The Barracks both are for the more mature crowd, especially the classy Med Bar. Scraggs (best pub in Carlow for all ages) Tullys and Levs (younger crowd but very cheap drink) O'Loughlins (Rugby Bar with very nice pints) and the hidden gem The Tavern is a top spot for pints just on the lower end of the strip.

There are also some lovely restaurants and takeaways etc for your convenience! 

Plenty to do during the day away aswell, it all depends what you would have in mind if it's not drinking LOL

The Talbot, Dolmen Hotel, Seven Oaks etc are all top notch hotels too! I also have numbers for B&B's that do packages for Stags Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:15pm
Depends on what you like I suppose. I loved the Aran Islands, but some lads would hate it as it does not have a nightclub.  

Maybe you should outline the sort of things you are looking for and what sort of age group the lads are and what they like to do on a stag. 

Edited by Baldrick - 17 Jun 2013 at 3:16pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colemanY2K Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:32pm

Depends on what you like I suppose. I loved the Aran Islands, but some lads would hate it as it does not have a nightclub.  

Maybe you should outline the sort of things you are looking for and what sort of age group the lads are and what they like to do on a stag. 
I think the fact that he mentioned hooters says it all. That narrows it down to probably Cork Dublin and possibly Galway for strip joints. Don't know any other town or city with a strip joint.

Edited by colemanY2K - 17 Jun 2013 at 3:35pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote reddladd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:46pm
I hear Carrick on Shannon is the best town for Stag do's.

They're meant to be easy going enough with drunk lads and no problems with door staff etc.

Maybe El Nino could confirm.

Edited by reddladd - 17 Jun 2013 at 3:46pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rossieman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:49pm

They're meant to be easy going enough with drunk lads and no problems with door staff etc.

carrick is a decent town but far from the best around.Depends what you are looking for but its hard beat Dublin for a night out.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREEWHEELER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:52pm
I'd mine in Galway, can't really go wrong there in my opinion.
cm79 View Drop Down
Cawhil cattle caaaaal

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cm79 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 3:53pm
I was at a great stag in Tullamore a few years ago, plenty of pubs and you can do a tour of the Tullamore Dew place.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 4:19pm

Was there the weekend before last, jammed with hen do's. a decent spot, door men were grand, good selection of pubs late bars/clubs. We got cracking weather which made it tbh, ya can't beat beer gardens for the day.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote El_nino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 4:25pm

Carrick is always full of stags and hens so the door staff know the Craic. Always a good buzz about the town on the summer weekends. Would definitely recommend it.
Huggybeer View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Huggybeer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 4:30pm

Originally posted by Huggybeer Huggybeer wrote:

The Foundry is one of Leinster's premier nightclubs in terms of size and reputation, it's packed every Saturday night without fail. 

Tullow Street is the golden mile of pubs in Carlow Town Centre, basically there are 10+ pubs along the strip whether it's on the left or right side of the road. There is also a Casino that stays open until 6.00 am every morning, so you'll find no shortage of getting a late drink down there.

Carpenters, Reddys, Raceys and Teach Dolmain (great dinner menu too) are at the top of the strip, these pubs are classic old school bars where some of the best pints in Carlow are served.

As you walk further down into the Town Centre, you will see The Med Bar and The Barracks both are for the more mature crowd, especially the classy Med Bar. Scraggs (best pub in Carlow for all ages) Tullys and Levs (younger crowd but very cheap drink) O'Loughlins (Rugby Bar with very nice pints) and the hidden gem The Tavern is a top spot for pints just on the lower end of the strip.

There are also some lovely restaurants and takeaways etc for your convenience! 

Plenty to do during the day away aswell, it all depends what you would have in mind if it's not drinking LOL

The Talbot, Dolmen Hotel, Seven Oaks etc are all top notch hotels too! I also have numbers for B&B's that do packages for Stags Thumbs Up

Savage detail GD, definatly in the running, although reddladd and 9fingers are putting a good case for carrick

Cheers lads, Strip club not a must have but a good night life and good few boosers are..throw into the mix a few hens for the craic & banter and were on a winner

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colemanY2K Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 4:36pm
Dingle is a top place for a stag. Plenty of hens and stags knocking around down there at weekends coupled with beautiful scenery and lots of pubs it's a great spot.

Only downside is it can be a hell of a drive.

I second Carlow, was there on a stag nearly three years ago. Good craic eventually.
Only downside was we were knocked back for being in fancy dress but I would put that down to one or two lads acting the maggot on other boozers and then word spread amongst the door staff via the mic system.

Edited by colemanY2K - 17 Jun 2013 at 4:52pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 4:47pm
One place I would avoid is Killarney for a stags. I lived and worked there back in the 90s and was there for a stag and I thought it was rubbish for the stage in my view.  
Andkend View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Andkend Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2013 at 6:12pm
Originally posted by cm79 cm79 wrote:

I was at a great stag in Tullamore a few years ago, plenty of pubs and you can do a tour of the Tullamore Dew place.

Johnny Houghs in Banagher in Offaly - one of the best pubs ever - great town and on the shannon so get a boat while you are at it.

I shared a house with a stripper for a year and at weekends she was often doing call outs for stags - herself and another girl made a fortune doing stags in some of the quieter irish towns. Don't go to them, they will come to you.

https://www.facebook.com/Houghs.Pub

Edited by Andkend - 17 Jun 2013 at 6:14pm
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 11>