New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Best/strangest old style grounds you’ve been to?

Best/strangest old style grounds you’ve been to?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2020 at 12:40am

Bloomfield Road
Victoria Ground
Dalymount
I was at Bloomfield Road with my dad in October 2005 for a League 1 match v Brentford. At that time there was the main stand (where we were sitting) which continued round to the goal on our left. Along the opposite sideline was temporary seating open to the elements where the away fans were put and behind the goal to the right was waste ground. Certainly different from the soulless bowls you see nowadays. LOL

And the less said about the match, the better - a truly dire 0-0. If you think Ireland matches these days are bad...Dead
My visit was in the 1987/88 season vs Mansfield Town. A very different place back then.

Reillers88 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Reillers88 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2020 at 9:46am
Craven Cottage 
fr larry duff View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fr larry duff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2020 at 10:16am
Tynecastle is a great old school ground, been there a few times, steep stands means it feels like you're on top of the action and a hostile home crowd, makes for a good away!

Honorable mention to craven cottage too.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MC Hammered Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2020 at 10:45am

I’ve been lucky enough to get to a few games in Argentina. Best atmosphere by a mile was the Copa Sudamerica final in La Bombonera. 
This year I went to see Racing play and enjoyed it too. The Estadio Presidente Peron is in a high density run down outer part of Buenos Aires. It’s a bit rough and ready but they seem to attract a good community support. Before the game, there’s a bit of a party vibe with barbecues and people boozing on the grass verges around the place. Whatever about the fellas pissing, I saw a few women whip the skirts up and have a slash in the open. There weren’t many airs or graces on display. Anyway we had a few beers and joined in the fun. 

The stadium is a coliseum shaped ground with a moat separating the pitch from the stands. There’s a high enough wall beside the moat for security purposes but there is a flat surface for maybe 3 or 4 metres before the stand starts to rise. So kids use this area to play their own little matches whilst their aul lads can keep an eye on them and the game at the same time. The quality of the match was poor enough but the crowd were lively and it was good craic.
Afterwards we struggled to get a cab and I didn’t know which bus to get so we ordered an Uber. The driver turned out to be one of Racing ultras who was leaving the match himself. My Spanish is just ok but I have enough to make conversation. He entertained us with some great stories and showed me pics of him and Lisandro Lopez out boozing together. 
The experience left me with a new found soft spot for Racing. 

Roberto_Carlow View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto_Carlow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2020 at 10:49am
Sat in the home end in Zilina and still get fear thinking about the mini crowded tunnel you had to go through to get to the ground (and the big angry fat home fan eating his peanuts, who's seat I had sat in)

The away end at Turf moor is also a kip. Part of the urinal is just a wall you piss against.

The away end at goodison is also a shambles. Wooden seats and floor, and overcrowded.

Special mention to Bulgaria as well where the robocop type riot police just let us all walk in with cans of beer without a care in the world.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colmoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2020 at 11:40am
millerntor stadion in Hamburg for St Pauli game. Unreal 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2020 at 11:55am
Ards 
Jackal View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jackal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2020 at 1:20pm
How about Glenavon with their big massive Jesus advertisment board?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2020 at 1:33pm
That’s Glentoran
Never liked it, very cold ground 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thebronze14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2020 at 2:00pm
Originally posted by Jack City Jack City wrote:

Griffin park,Brentfords old ground.4 pubs outside the stadium,1 in each corner.1 for away fan's where I had a great session.The stand behind the goal for away fan's would shake when celebrating a goal.

Got to go there in January for the QPR game and was in the away end. Great day out! 

Got the Mestailla in the week before. So different to the corporate entities that stadiums have become now. Had to go for a piss after about 30 minutes and the style of the seats and the fact you had to pass about 120 people to get to the exit stairs made it a dangerous experience!!

Spotland is a random one with the bar being in a hotel joined to the ground. Had a pint there before and after and of course the drunkest man falling about the place that day was Irish!

The Maksimir in Zagreb was a weird experience. Only about 2000 there for NK Zagreb v Hadjuk Split with away fans outnumbering home fans. NK pulled off a shock 3 nil win.

I mentioned on another ground Boundary Park as a really nice old ground I've been too. 

Enjoyed Turf Moor when I was there. For the EPL it's a nice tidy, compact ground and doesn't feel like some of the other over commercialised stadiums. Cheap beer and sound locals in the city helps!

Selhurst Park is a decent spot although I've never experienced seats being closer together...Still have pain from celebrating a Ricky Lambert goal.

The Den was a mad experience getting in and out of the away end. You barely pass a home fan but there still managed to be trouble of my times there

Upton Park was class. Hostile atmoshere with everyone standing. Some chap took off his prostetic leg to celebrate a goal and waved it around in the air. The concourse was dangerously full at HT though

Love the Loftus Road away end. Really close to the pitch and feel that you're part of the action!

Loved the old Communist bowl style of the Puskas Arena when we played in Budapest. Gone now afaik

Closer to home Glentoran was a bit like that which I enjoyed. Have a soft spot for Drogheda's ground, particularly the away shed. Tolka has its charm too

The de Kuip, San Siro and Kenilworth Road are my bucket list grounds now. Had some craic working in a bar in Manchester for the two years Feynoord fans were over. Really sound and passionate bunch and the stadium looks amazing

Edited by thebronze14 - 06 Dec 2020 at 2:01pm
Joe Stalin View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Joe Stalin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2020 at 10:35pm
De Kuip is fantastic, the noise just pours down onto the pitch. Must be a brilliant atmosphere to play in. The train station puling up at the away end is mental too.

Easter Road is one I've always liked. I'd like to do Tynecastle too.

Echo what others said about the Olympic stadium in Rome - did a Rome derby once. Noisiest atmosphere but the main stands were empty more or less and everyone squashed into the Curvas. Gazillions of trigger happy police, just felt weird. 
Greenlad11 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Greenlad11 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2020 at 10:46pm
Craven Cottage 
Jackal View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jackal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2020 at 12:07am
Napoli. The entire bottom tier was closed as it was unsafe. I was up the top tier and there was holes going right through, big enough to fall through. They just had a few young fellas in Hi Vis jackets and a bit of tape to mind it.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Borussia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2020 at 9:27am
The old Stadium of Light in Lisbon was an amazing ground - Was my first Ireland away game in 1995.
Also really liked the old Rheinstadio in Dusseldorf even though it had an athletics track around it. 
cullenswood View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cullenswood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2020 at 9:39am
Originally posted by Greenlad11 Greenlad11 wrote:

Craven Cottage 

Yep, love that sh1thole of a ground.    Classic old school for a Premier League ground

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2020 at 10:14am
Originally posted by Joe Stalin Joe Stalin wrote:

Echo what others said about the Olympic stadium in Rome - did a Rome derby once. Noisiest atmosphere but the main stands were empty more or less and everyone squashed into the Curvas. Gazillions of trigger happy police, just felt weird. 

Same - seen them play AC Milan a few years ago. Some police presence but majority of fans behind the goal. 

For old school I like Fulham or Brentfords  Griffin park. Proper old football stadiums with peoples houses right beside them.

Went to Boca juniors match about 17/18 years ago. Best atmosphere I’ve ever seen. Non stop chanting and for the fans it’s a religion.
We went by ourselves despite everybody telling us to book a ‘tour guide experience’. Although we left our phones, wallets and camera’s at home. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Territorial Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2020 at 1:52pm
Originally posted by Joe Stalin Joe Stalin wrote:

De Kuip is fantastic, the noise just pours down onto the pitch. Must be a brilliant atmosphere to play in. The train station puling up at the away end is mental too.
Whilst a badly designed stadium can inhibit an atmosphere (see eg WHU), a "good" stadium cannot make one.

I was really looking forward to visiting De Kuip for the Netherlands v Northern Ireland game a while back, but was severely disappointed in the atmosphere.

The away end was typically jumping, but the home crowd, drawn from all over Netherlands, were crap. I'm sure it's a whole lot different when Feyenoord play there, for the big games at least, reflecting the fact that it's the fans who make it happen.

Meanwhile, I happened to be on holiday in Poland back in 1996 and went along to a European cup game between Legia Warsaw and Panathinaikos. The stadium was sh*t, even by Soviet bloc standards, all crumbling concrete and barbed wire fences. It wasn't by any means full, even though they'd clearly shipped in a load of squaddies (Legia are/were the Army team), many of whom probably weren't interested in football.

Yet the atmosphere was the most mental I've ever been in as a neutral - fantastic!

Anyhow, they've since completely rebuilt the stadium (I think the Council bought it off the Army?)

Edited by Territorial - 08 Dec 2020 at 1:56pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MC Hammered Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2020 at 1:58pm

What factors contribute towards a good atmosphere:

- big match (something important at stake)
- full house 
- rivalry or acrimony between the teams and supporters
- terraces
- older prestigious stadium (preferably in bad nick)
- lack of corporate and hospitality areas 
- steep stands 
- crowd close to the pitch 
- a good size away following 
- night or evening time game 

What am I missing 

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>