Best goal in EPL history

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Best goal in EPL history
    Posted: 16 May 2020 at 10:50pm
The MOTD lads are debating it now
Both Shearer and Wright have gone for Bergkamp v Newcastle 

What’s your best?
Very ambiguous category 

It’s between Le Tissier v Newcastle and Bergkamp v Leicester for me 

Can’t have Wilshere’s v Norwich in my top 10

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2020 at 10:58pm
Two recentish ones in my head are Ogbonna for West Ham against spurs at Wembley and the Iranian chap who played for Fulham with a first time volley.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2020 at 11:00pm
Can’t remember either that well
Must YouTube them 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2020 at 11:13pm
 https://youtu.be/PhSr0dJp1ss

Ogbonna is about 1:45 into that video.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote coyne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2020 at 11:48pm

and the Iranian chap who played for Fulham with a first time volley.

Patjim Kasami? I can't see how that goal can be beaten tbh. The technique was simply awesome, no other word can be used to describe it.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2020 at 11:59pm

and the Iranian chap who played for Fulham with a first time volley.

Patjim Kasami? I can't see how that goal can be beaten tbh. The technique was simply awesome, no other word can be used to describe it.

Honestly can’t remember his name but that must be him because that’s the goal alright. Perfect technique.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2020 at 12:19am
There's hundreds of top class goals.  Can't even think of 90% of them off the top of my head.

The DiCanio goal is the most overrated goal in history.   I think it was yer man Gary Parker for Aston Villa v Man City at Maine Road in 1992 scored a similar scissor kick volley and it is never even mentioned as a good goal never mind a great goal.

Some of my more off the beaten track favourites:
Yeboah v Wimbledon away 1995
Dalian Atkinson v Wimbledon 1992
Dalian Atkinson v Sheffield Wednesday 1992
Cantona v Wimbledon 1993
Scholes v Newcastle 2003
Scholes v Bradford 2000
Andy Sinton v Man City 1992
Les Ferdianand v Man Utd 1995

Jackal View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jackal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2020 at 12:34am
David Beckham when he scored from the half way line.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HuntysCousin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2020 at 12:45am
For me, this one has to be up there:

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2020 at 12:49am
What I loved about the Dalian Atkinson goal against Wimbledon that TJ mentioned is the chap that runs on the pitch with an umbrella while Atkinson is celebrating. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shedite Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2020 at 8:18am
Di Canio V Wimbledon for me.

Always had a soft spot for this one too

Best Irish Premier League goal? I loved this strike

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2020 at 12:32pm
Originally posted by Jackal Jackal wrote:

David Beckham when he scored from the half way line.

It was iconic given it was the early days of the PL and was first time I had happened by England’s new star.
But Figueroa’s for Wigan is a better goal from inside own half, actually hard to think of a cleaner dead ball strike goal so up there with the best. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2020 at 12:41pm
Beckham's was a very good goal from a great player that really announced him on the scene, but there have been much better long- range goals. Matt Taylor had a couple, as well as Figueroa, Jon Harley. Petrov had one on the half-volley that was much more difficult. Charlie Adam too. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2020 at 12:42pm

The MOTD lads are debating it now
Both Shearer and Wright have gone for Bergkamp v Newcastle 

What’s your best?
Very ambiguous category 

It’s between Le Tissier v Newcastle and Bergkamp v Leicester for me 

Can’t have Wilshere’s v Norwich in my top 10

I’ve always been a big fan of the Le Tissier one he had complete control of the ball and left defenders in their arses.

Bergkamp for me was quick thinking from him after a touch he did to try control a ball slightly behind him. I don’t think he had it all planned in his head. He said so himself he turned the way he did as it was the quickest way to get to the ball. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2020 at 1:46pm
Kasemi ,I think,for Fulham. That was exceptional 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2020 at 1:52pm
Sinclair v Barnsley was simply amazing. Beats Giggs v Arsenal for me. 

But both were in the fa cup yet they had them featured last night. 

Edited by McG - 17 May 2020 at 1:53pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2020 at 1:53pm

Sinclair v Barnsley was simply amazing. Beats Giggs v Arsenal for me. 

But both were in the fa cup.
Maradona vs England would be my choice, but that wasn't in the EPL either.
Jock View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2020 at 2:44pm
Watched Giggs goal back last night on MOTD, a vastly overrated goal in my opinion. An emphatic finish but no one puts a challenge in. Think it gets overstated probably due to the occasion and the celebration that followed.

Ricardo Fuller scored a great goal for Stoke vs Villa. For me every bit as good as Bergkamp's as he knew what he was doing. Bergkamp's was more improvisation.