Best away of the campaign?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 6>
Poll Question: What was yours?
10 [12.99%]
11 [14.29%]
6 [7.79%]
15 [19.48%]
32 [41.56%]
3 [3.90%]

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2013 at 10:42pm

Why did people think Sweden was so bad, incidentally? Just price? I didn't mind Stockholm, tbh.

sh*t pubs, sh*t people, far too spread out, was freezing, stadium a long walk from middle of nowhere, expensive, fun police an actual thing in sweden, state owned offo's only, public transport and taxis prohibitively expensive, complete let down bar the football and kelly's was good
agree with all this. Don't think I'd return if we got them

+ 1

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2013 at 10:43pm
Kaz - mainly due to a general liking for oddball places

Germany - good trip, although I didn't get too far past the flippin square, so maybe I'm not the best judge of this....

Austria - Vienna a nice city, good craic in general

Sweden -mainly bad, expensive, cold, nanny state laws for drinking, the same type of safety first approach surprisingly doesn't seem to have applied to their building site outside the stadium, rip off pubs, one of our group got wrong changed of € 50 twice by the same barman in one establishment in the same night, rip off taxis, but against that, Wirstroms and Kellys decent pubs

Faroes - Was only there on the day trip, first time doing a day trip, it was what it was, didn't fall above or below any expectations I had

England - Grand country until ya try get beer after 2am, I don't think the atmosphere is ever the same for a friendly, which is why I put it here rather than any bad experiences of the place. 

Cardiff/Belgrade/NY - Wasn't at any of them

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brianie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2013 at 11:00pm
Kaz
Austria
Cologne
Sweden

London but that was not part of the CampaignWink

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2013 at 11:02pm
Pubs weren't that bad, none of the stadiums this time were that close to the city centres, there was beer available from the corner shops, you only needed to take public transport to and from the stadium, the football was great (as was the atmosphere) and the people really weren't that bad.

The prices were wild though, I'll grant that. I might have been slightly influenced by the great time we had in Copenhagen the night after the match, admittedly. It's a city I would definitely go back to, even though it was pricier again.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Citizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2013 at 11:02pm
Originally posted by ZinedineKibane ZinedineKibane wrote:

Why did people think Sweden was so bad, incidentally? Just price? I didn't mind Stockholm, tbh.

sh*t pubs, sh*t people, far too spread out, was freezing, stadium a long walk from middle of nowhere, expensive, fun police an actual thing in sweden, state owned offo's only, public transport and taxis prohibitively expensive, complete let down bar the football and kelly's was good
agree with all this. Don't think I'd return if we got them

+ 1

wouldn't be in a rush to go back to sweden.

JUICEBOMB View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JUICEBOMB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2013 at 11:19pm
In fairness,I've been to Sweden a few times and the difference between Stockholm and say Gothenburg or malmo is unreal....like most I wouldn't be rushing back to Stockholm but if we did get them again and in a different city in Sweden I'd be gone like a shot

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thebronze14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2013 at 11:49pm
Belgrade
Torshavn
Koln
Vienna
Cardiff
Stockholm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greenforever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2013 at 12:33am
Kazak n Germany were the best

Austria was next

Sweeden was sh*te

Faroes day trip so hard to say.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2013 at 12:42am
Worst campaign in a long time, saying that I only did Sweden and Austria. But as we got a result and a performance in Sweden I would vote Sweden.

Edited by Baldrick - 14 Oct 2013 at 12:46am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevincronin2000 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2013 at 1:05am
Germany
England
Wales
Sweden
Oman

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2013 at 7:04am
Kazachkstan (Adidas bar was tremendous fun)
Cologne (remember little which is a good sign)
Faroes (day trip, but was superb craic. that fight home had some unbelievable scenes)
Vienna
Stockholm

In friendlies, football wise London then Cardiff but craic wise would be Cardiff then London

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PanteirA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2013 at 7:19am
Vienna
Cologne
Stockholm

Only aways I went to. Stockholm not a good drinking city and wasn't left in anywhere. Saying that the Saturu night I got into a Nightclub that was unreal. Spent around a grand therr in three days which is crazy. Colonge was ok but sh*te weather on matchday and the tram to the stadium was f**king ridiculous. Vienna was a great trip and the fact we were in Budapest for two nights before it added to the trip in a big way

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AntrimMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2013 at 9:35am
Kazahkstan - great trip. did Almaty and Astana, the 20 hour sleeper train through the steppe, the craic in the adidas bars and our lovely hosts there, wearer was grand, we snatched victory from the jaws of defeat and I ate a horse. Lovely job.

Faroe Islands - As yis say, only a day trip but the craic was unreal. Flights were brilliant, the irish bar with the band was great, local beer nice, we won handy enough and the nicest fish and chips I've ever had. Oh, and the infamous bedsheet!

Vienna - Messy as fook. Charlie P's a great spot. Nice city, great public transport. Far too much BrewDog though.

London - Handy trip, good fun. The moment when Shane Long stuck the ball in the Englands net.

Stockholm - wasn't as bad as everyone is saying. Was expensive yeah but we expected it and I for one kinda budgeted for it. €3 bottles in one of the bars - fierce disspointing locals though.

Cologne - didn't go. I'll assume it was sh*te so Big smile

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2013 at 9:47am
Cologne.
Faroe's.
Stockholm.
Vienna.
London.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RogerMilla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2013 at 9:51am
sweden by far the best for me , met loads of people and we got a draw that no one expected at all . lovely walk around the town , a few nice pubs , decent bit of grub was had , defo the best trip except for the weather.

vienna was depressing , lovely town but sickening result ,
loved cologne but fecks sakes we had our holes handed to us , that alway ruins a trip.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RogerMilla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2013 at 9:51am
still gutted i never made kazakstan due to a wedding , hopefully we get them again

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Guf10 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2013 at 9:52am
1.Oman
2.England
3.Austria
4.Spain
5.Sweden

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2013 at 9:57am

Kazahkstan - great trip. did Almaty and Astana, the 20 hour sleeper train through the steppe, the craic in the adidas bars and our lovely hosts there, wearer was grand, we snatched victory from the jaws of defeat and I ate a horse. Lovely job.

Faroe Islands - As yis say, only a day trip but the craic was unreal. Flights were brilliant, the irish bar with the band was great, local beer nice, we won handy enough and the nicest fish and chips I've ever had. Oh, and the infamous bedsheet!

Vienna - Messy as fook. Charlie P's a great spot. Nice city, great public transport. Far too much BrewDog though.

London - Handy trip, good fun. The moment when Shane Long stuck the ball in the Englands net.

Stockholm - wasn't as bad as everyone is saying. Was expensive yeah but we expected it and I for one kinda budgeted for it. €3 bottles in one of the bars - fierce disspointing locals though.

Cologne - didn't go. I'll assume it was sh*te so Big smile
Your assumption is incorrectThumbs Up
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 6>