![]() ![]() |
Away days with family |
Post Reply ![]() |
Author | |
darmack ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 2011 Location: Dublin Status: Offline Points: 4538 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 16 Feb 2023 at 10:15am |
Going to Portugal for the Gibralter match with the family and bringing the daughter to her first game. I'm looking forward to it, but she'll be 1 year a 4 months in October so might be at an awkward age.
For those who have brought young kids before have ye regretted it? Or keep family and away days separate? At least the Algave will just be like a sun holiday, whereas a city match might be different again.
The other half has been to a few aways before in Stockholm and last time playing Gib in Faro, but they were a bit of duds cos Stockholm was too spread out, and not much craic post match in Faro. Vienna was the best away trip for her, but there was a karaoke involved.
|
|
|
|
![]() |
|
Sponsored Links | |
![]() |
|
kevincronin2000 ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Cork Airport Dogging Administrator Joined: 17 Aug 2009 Location: P. Rep of Cork Status: Online Points: 5137 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
brought my daughter to the last Gibraltar game in Faro for her first game mind you she was a bit older. However by staying in albufeia your mixing up a sun/family holiday and an away trip with the away trip being the match and the eve of the game
|
|
|
|
![]() |
|
horsebox ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() Born n bred in darndale. Joined: 03 Feb 2010 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 33185 |
Only you can answer that question.
My kids when they were very young wouldn't have liked it so I never brought them, I brought my 10 year old to Denmark a few years ago and even then he was bored up until he met someone his own age and then he had a great time. |
|
When the devil got a hold of me, He wouldn't set me free, So he kept me soul for ransom. na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na. I'm a sailor man from Glasgow to |
|
![]() |
|
MC Hammered ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() Joined: 05 Oct 2011 Status: Online Points: 6530 |
I’ve a couple of young lads and my theory is that I won’t be taking to live games until they are happy enough to sit through most of an Ireland match on tv.
|
|
|
|
![]() |
|
Shedite ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Joined: 09 Dec 2011 Status: Offline Points: 9526 |
Bring them to a home game first IMO. I brought my 5yo to the FAI cup final last year, lots of food/snacks involved to get them through 2 hrs
|
|
![]() |
|
Saint Tom ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() Joined: 03 Jan 2009 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 9664 |
Bringing our little one to Greece in June, she'll be two in July.
To be honest it's a chance to get to the game during a family holiday in a place that has enough to keep us busy for the length of time we are there. As Kev says the match for us still be a few drinks the day before and going to the match itself. Will see how it goes, will do the same for Gibraltar if it works well. |
|
Where patriots and super saints are the topics of conversation |
|
![]() |
|
darmack ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 2011 Location: Dublin Status: Offline Points: 4538 |
Clearly be a different atmosphere compared with going to Amsterdam with your mates.
|
|
|
|
![]() |
|
Jackal ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Sep 2019 Status: Offline Points: 1148 |
Gibraltar will be like going to an Arsenal game. You'll be fine.
|
|
![]() |
|
dangere_here ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() Joined: 24 Nov 2018 Status: Offline Points: 441 |
Brought the ex wife and nipper to Liechtenstein in 1995 for the 0-0, lad is probably still traumatized
|
|
![]() |
|
Baldrick ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() Peyton-tly Pedantic Joined: 18 Sep 2008 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 29932 |
Was she the ex wife at the time. 😀
|
|
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
|
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |