![]() ![]() |
Armenia Away 4th June |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 41424344> |
Author | ||||
VanBosch ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() Joined: 10 Oct 2016 Status: Offline Points: 588 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Home today - what did people make of Yerevan (apart from the match)? Flights were long but worked out fine thankfully, city itself was nice in parts but not a huge drinking culture.
I enjoyed it.
Edited by VanBosch - 06 Jun 2022 at 9:36pm |
||||
![]() |
||||
Sponsored Links | ||||
![]() |
||||
DublinScouse1916 ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() Joined: 29 Sep 2020 Location: Ballyfermot Status: Offline Points: 163 |
|||
Yeah not a huge drinking culture bar the 3 day wine festival that was absolutely heaving
|
||||
![]() |
||||
irishmufc ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() I love Vulvas Joined: 09 Aug 2011 Location: Dublin Status: Offline Points: 24128 |
|||
Result aside, it was definitely one of my favourite stress-free away trips. The Georgians and Azeris were sound but I found the Armenians way friendlier out of all those caucuses countries. In terms of travel I hope we don't get those countries for awhile yet as they're a pain in the hole to get to. Out of five flights in 5 days, three of them were delayed ![]() Glad I flew back in the early hours on the Sunday as hanging around in Yerevan until Tuesday/Wednesday after a loss wouldn't be for me tbh. A bit grim especially after a bad defeat imo.
|
||||
Giros,glue sniffing,dogs on ropes
But I see people with dreams and hopes |
||||
![]() |
||||
The Huntacha ![]() Roy Keane ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Mar 2012 Location: Dubai Status: Online Points: 11924 |
|||
I was on this flight, unfortunately stuck in the middle of them for 3 hours. It was about 20 fans (extremely loose term) who were acting the b*ll*x. There was no drink being sold on the flight so it was fairly obvious they were working away on their duty-free, which kept getting taken off them. A few of them started playing music on a speaker, which ended up getting taken off them too. Another one decided to stand up and go looking for the speaker just as we were landing. Felt sorry for the 3 staff working and the few families who were stuck in the middle of them. Then as we landed, anyone who was Irish, even if you hadn't been drinking on the flight, and had been sitting in the last 15 rows got held back as we left the plane for about 25 minutes to be met by the police. We were threatened with being brought to the police station but ended up just being escorted to immigration and out into arrivals.
|
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
cliffrichard ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 16 Nov 2009 Status: Offline Points: 1091 |
|||
Tramps. Can do without those "supporters"
|
||||
Touts Out!
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Pipkin ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 07 May 2009 Status: Offline Points: 1968 |
|||
It seems to be the most affluent or westernised of the three countries in the vicinity. A good trip but wasn’t anywhere near the top and the result soured it.
Agree with the comment on the bar culture. Most of the bars I was in were crap with table service only (if you would call it service they were that slow) which ran out of beer or were serving it warm. There didn’t seem to be an alternative although I’m sure some on here found them. The Beatles bar was awfully laid out for a crowd and didn’t spend much time there after the first night.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Mr_T ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() ![]() Joined: 02 Nov 2009 Location: Donegal Status: Offline Points: 193 |
|||
100% Never understand why people jump to defend people being dicks just because they're Irish and heading to the game, or just because yet man was french and a bit judgemental. You don't act like that on a plane. Full stop.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
irish_major ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() Bookie Slayer Joined: 20 Jan 2009 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 3751 |
|||
This. Who the fook blares a speaker on a plane? The hell is wrong with those lads.
|
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
The Huntacha ![]() Roy Keane ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Mar 2012 Location: Dubai Status: Online Points: 11924 |
|||
It was great craic and the staff were bang on but they were woefully under prepared for the crowds they got. Whenever we got rounds, there was a new type of beer each time and half of the bottles were warm.
|
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
irishmufc ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() I love Vulvas Joined: 09 Aug 2011 Location: Dublin Status: Offline Points: 24128 |
|||
![]() Yah I told your one when ordering, I wanted three lagers and they gave me that poxy craft beer in the yellow bottle. Dargett I think it was called. The red one was the pilsner/lager one I think.
|
||||
Giros,glue sniffing,dogs on ropes
But I see people with dreams and hopes |
||||
![]() |
||||
Donegalman ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 16 Jun 2015 Location: Donegal Status: Online Points: 1647 |
|||
Still on the way home, sitting in Geneva airport after spending lastnight in Antalya so doing it the long way around. Good enough trip but the result put a serious dampener on it. A good few have already mentioned it on here that the people were very friendly and to be fair didn’t come across as many chancers trying to rip people off. Every second taxi man in Georgia and Azerbaijan did but paid 1400 drams to the airport yesterday morning all of €2.80 or so. Some very nice places in the city particularly up along that pedestrian street.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
lukesmyth9 ![]() Alan Kernaghan ![]() Joined: 02 Jul 2021 Location: Galway Status: Offline Points: 120 |
|||
Did anybody else get stung on beer prices? they were widely varying everytime i went up. People saying 2500 per beer in the beatles where other places was 1500+. Was this just irish tax?
|
||||
![]() |
||||
EireDub ![]() Ronnie Whelan ![]() ![]() Joined: 10 Apr 2019 Location: Dublin Status: Online Points: 94 |
|||
Massive difference in price in Beatles when it was quiet on Thursday to Friday night when it was packed
|
||||
![]() |
||||
lukesmyth9 ![]() Alan Kernaghan ![]() Joined: 02 Jul 2021 Location: Galway Status: Offline Points: 120 |
|||
Yeah thought that, we went to a place across the road called seeds bar on the Friday and it was grand, just the 4 of us but we fair took over, one lad even got the hop
![]() |
||||
![]() |
||||
CC1984 ![]() Phil Babb ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Sep 2021 Status: Offline Points: 29 |
|||
Good trip and very nice city particularly around the Cascade area. Felt very safe and didn't have the police presence Baku had, there seemed to be police on every corner there. Hopefully won't get drawn in that part of the world for awhile, 3 flights home starting with a 2:45 am check in was torture.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Deane ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 17 Oct 2014 Location: Co Down Status: Offline Points: 2820 |
|||
Taxi men didn't have a word of English so I decided to communicate via hand gestures. Wanted him to bring me to a strip club. Was saying girls and showing hand signals of boobs. He brought me to a street that had street prostitutes everywhere. They were all stinking, overweight and ugly, I proceeding to offer to pay for him to get a girl, worked out at about a tenner so thought f**k it this will be entertaining, he drove up and down the road a good 20 times before he found one suitable. I gave him the money. At the same time 4 russian lads took me out of the taxi and I went with them in the car, they said girls too ugly here so they drove around with IRA music blasting, I thought I was being robbed and kidnapped so started to panic a bit. Then asked where I was staying, I just said republic square. They took me there, let me out and said nice to meet you, added me on instagram. I was thinking thank f**k for that hahaha. Was a surreal experience.
![]() |
||||
![]() |
||||
colmoc ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() serious foot fetish Joined: 09 Feb 2009 Status: Offline Points: 7543 |
|||
![]() ![]() |
||||
![]() |
||||
tapfit2004 ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() ![]() Joined: 15 Apr 2012 Location: section 116 Status: Offline Points: 389 |
|||
Think I met you outside the beatles bar on Sunday. If its the same lad you badly needed some sleep. 🤣
|
||||
Let Christy Take It.
|
||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 41424344> |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |