Topic ClosedAnthony Stokes

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 8>

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 2010 at 1:19pm
I didn't really rate Stokes at Sunderland but you have to remember who his manager was there!

If he gets a couple good seasons in SPL he's young enough to give it another go in England

DG80 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 2010 at 2:31pm
stokes should never have left falkirk in the first place. only a young fella starting out. he should have stayed there, bang in the goals and let his confidence grow.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 2010 at 5:34pm
Originally posted by DG80 DG80 wrote:

stokes should never have left falkirk in the first place. only a young fella starting out. he should have stayed there, bang in the goals and let his confidence grow.

In fairness to him, i dont think his confidence could have grown any more at that stage; he was scoring goals for fun at that stage and i think he needed a new challenge. He started off great at Sunderland but when they made the EPL he just wasnt up to it. Celtic wouldnt be a bad shout but he's doing just fine at the mo. Stay at Hibs for the rest of the season at least.
sledgehammer View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 2010 at 6:10pm
The lad has got so much knocking over the past few years he surely deserves to be plauded when he puts them away. Hughes must really no how to get the best out of him
Up there for thinking. Down there for dancing

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 2010 at 7:01pm
Everyone deserves second/third chances if they are performing with their clubs, but I'm not expecting to be pleasently surprised when Stokes gets his with Ireland.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jan 2010 at 5:24pm
Bags of ability , attitude is the question . .
davekoolhill View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2010 at 12:16pm
i think he is only 22 or so... Do you think he will make it at the top level??? I'd say he will when he turns about 27 or  28... 
Twitter: DaveOGrady1
Jonesy View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jan 2010 at 4:40am
Hibs will prove to be a good move for Anth.
Get Double Maxim in the Clarehall Dublin Tesco ASAP
kessler View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jan 2010 at 1:50pm
I'm glad to see him doing well and think he should be in the mix for our squads in the next campaign once he keeps it up. He could do with some stability and a couple of years playing regularly. I like him as a player and he's still only young so he should continue to progress and learn over the next few years.
Chopper 76 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jan 2010 at 5:38pm

I reckon he is a good player he is young and has plenty of time ahead of him I hope he features in the euro qualifiers

Engpad12345 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jan 2010 at 3:47pm
IMO our second most natural goalscorer after Keane. Has played regularly at two clubs and scored regularly for both. Given a run in the Premier League i believe he would do the same.
You've had a Manny

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 2010 at 5:00am
Maybe a move to Celtic would be best for all, should stay at Hibs for now, continue to score and then see if Celtic go back in for him. He still has years to develop and it's not a bad thing he is now doing it in the SPL, he is finding the net and that is only good for us

Edited by t_rAndy - 11 Jan 2010 at 5:01am

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 2010 at 7:54am
Originally posted by Engpad12345 Engpad12345 wrote:

IMO our second most natural goalscorer after Keane. Has played regularly at two clubs and scored regularly for both. Given a run in the Premier League i believe he would do the same.

ah yeah but look at the standard compared he was/ is playing at compared to the lads in the EPL!

Cant agree with your other point about him in the EPL, no chance Stokes would bang them in as easily for a top flight English club compared to Scotland.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 2010 at 9:12am

Originally posted by Engpad12345 Engpad12345 wrote:

ah yeah but look at the standard compared he was/ is playing at compared to the lads in the EPL!

Cant agree with your other point about him in the EPL, no chance Stokes would bang them in as easily for a top flight English club compared to Scotland.

you never know HM , soem fellas bloom , i woudl liek to have seen him go to celtic that time , he made a bad move heading to play for keano .

loads of time for him to do it if there is a manager willing to take a chance on him..

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 2010 at 9:15am
The scottish league is pure kack and cant be compared to the premiership- Stelling asked Charlies Nicholas on soccer saturday if Kris Boyd would score goals in the premiership and he replied not a hope

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 2010 at 10:13am

The scottish league is pure kack and cant be compared to the premiership- Stelling asked Charlies Nicholas on soccer saturday if Kris Boyd would score goals in the premiership and he replied not a hope

Charlie nic LOL classic !

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 2010 at 10:16am
Boyd wouldn't last pissing time in the Premier League, he's a fat lazy coont.   Stokes has time on his side, if he stops acting the maggot off the pitch he could have a very good career cos he has got ability.
Mafi Mushkila View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 2010 at 10:29am

Boyd wouldn't last pissing time in the Premier League, he's a fat lazy coont.   Stokes has time on his side, if he stops acting the maggot off the pitch he could have a very good career cos he has got ability.

That's the thing that will get in his way, he needs to cop onto himself! He reminds me a bit of Sean Thornton in certain respects! I just hope he doesn't end up like Sean destined for great things but his attitude, behaviour etc went against him and he's gone from playing in the Premiership all the way down to playing League One football!
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 8>