![]() ![]() |
Adam Idah |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 7071727374 75> |
Author | ||||
John Nice ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() ![]() Joined: 10 Sep 2021 Location: Wexford Status: Offline Points: 3004 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
I assume that's what will happen if he's not fit, no? It was an ankle injury this time though, so likely not related to his knee issue. He will either be fit or he won't be, he clearly thinks he has a chance post scan which can't have revealed anything too worrying, fair play to him for wanting to be involved in what will be a huge game for all these lads!
|
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Sponsored Links | ||||
![]() |
||||
John Nice ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() ![]() Joined: 10 Sep 2021 Location: Wexford Status: Offline Points: 3004 |
|||
Knackers yard for him! 22yo, zero chance he could develop further or stay injury free at that age!
|
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
dangere_here ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() Joined: 24 Nov 2018 Status: Offline Points: 441 |
|||
Unfortunately the likes of Ferguson and Obafemi will show him up. It's one thing to be firing blanks when everyone else is also not scoring, but the pressure is on him now. He'd be as well to play in Belgium or Holland to sort out his confidence.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Roberto Baggio ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() UNBELIEVABLE JEFF Joined: 28 Jan 2010 Status: Offline Points: 35947 |
|||
He’s about 6th choice striker at the minute But plays a pass or nearly scores on a Saturday and there are 42 new posts about him
|
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
Like every other promising young Irish striker then? Cannon being the latest!
|
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
2nd choice for me if you are looking for somebody tactically to lead the line!
|
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
dangere_here ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() Joined: 24 Nov 2018 Status: Offline Points: 441 |
|||
Only a few years back the likes of Robbie Brady was hailed as the next Duff,now he's rotting away at Preston. James McCarthy would be another decent example, his star fell fairly lively in the end.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
rebelbrowser ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() Joined: 09 Jun 2016 Location: Cork Status: Offline Points: 436 |
|||
Has always been a firm part of Kennys plans. Until EF came along, I suspect was SKs first choice guy to lead the line. Has had rotten luck with injuries which has certainly stalled his progress the last 18 months.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
The O'Shea ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() I know everything and I’m NEVER wrong Joined: 16 Aug 2013 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 8479 |
|||
No one ever suggested Brady would be as good as Duff. McCarthy suffered not one, but 2 season ending injuries in his mid-20's, so it's hardly surprising he went backwards. As usual then, more sh*te talk.
|
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Luis Amor Rodriguez ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 19 Sep 2016 Location: Harchester Status: Offline Points: 1492 |
|||
Agreed.
And McCarthy many solid and some great performances. His career stalled somewhat by Trap's reluctance to get him involved initially and then a multi-season debate on whether he should be playing the no 10-Wessi role for Ireland. [The answer was "No - the no-10-Wessi role was probably best filed by Hoolahan"]. His performance was immense the last time the world finalists (in fact champions) came to Dublin for a Euro qualifier - covered every blade of grass that day. It was a brilliant example of the cliche of "doing the unseen work". If you look back at the video of that Germany match and focus on his positioning that day, making himself constantly available as a receiver (not a trait in the Irish midfield back then) and continual tracking-back, it shines through.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
The O'Shea ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() I know everything and I’m NEVER wrong Joined: 16 Aug 2013 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 8479 |
|||
The midfield trio were all brilliant in that game, it was a template-type performance that unfortunately never became the template for whatever reason
|
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
Go way outta that you bowsie Therefore, the baton will pass to one of Ireland’s most accomplished and well-rounded underage footballers since Duff in 1998, Robbie Brady.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
Can't agree with that at all, that German team was still celebrating their world cup win for about five years after, on another night we would have been mullered 8-1 like a few years before. Jimmy Mc had a great game in Sweden away 2013 but aside from that. His abiding memory for me will be him bottling out of playing Scotland away. A real child among men. Scotland dodged a bullet truth be told. His lack of presence only outdone by Jazzy Jeff Hendricks.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Het-field ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() By Appointment to His Majesty The King Joined: 08 Mar 2016 Status: Offline Points: 9105 |
|||
Funny, I think people forget that during 2015-mid 2017 McCarthy and Brady did look like we would enjoy two very capable, consistent PL footballers in our midfield. McCarthy's second injury sidelined him for 18 months. Coleman had a similar leg break, and was out for almost a year, and was never the same. In truth, those injuries were crucial in our regression. Add to that Rice and Grealish defecting we lost the chance to have five excellent PL players as the hub of our team.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Fitz ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 12 Oct 2011 Location: Oileán Ciarraí Status: Offline Points: 2118 |
|||
Christ, that’s grim.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
I don't know why I'm engaging with you on some random comment made over a decade ago by a random person on a random online publication - but that snippet doesn't say what you think it does. It says Brady (in 2012) is the most well rounded youth player Ireland have had since Duff in 1998 (which may well have been true). Nowhere does it make the claim you have, which is that people were claiming Brady was going to be as good as Duff.....
|
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
Duff was underwhelming in a green shirt though bar a few cameos, whereas Brady scored one of the most iconic gold's in Irish history and is sound as a pound. Duff reached higher peaks alright but Brady did the business for us. Idah on the other hand, lovely lad but will he ever score?
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Luis Amor Rodriguez ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 19 Sep 2016 Location: Harchester Status: Offline Points: 1492 |
|||
Brady also scored a goal nobody saw in Bosnia to get us to the Euros in the first place!
|
||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 7071727374 75> |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |