2019 Toulon Tournament

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 24>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pateen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2019 at 2:05pm

Originally posted by pateen pateen wrote:

Hoping no LOI player gets called for this for the sake of their clubs

what? the more LOI players we can get playing at international level the better. short term pain for long term gain.

Yeah but the clubs need their players at that time more the ireland u-21s do for a few friendlies.
Flying so high, trying to remember
How many cigarettes did I bring along?
When I get down I'll jump in a taxi cab
Driving through London town, to cry you a song

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2019 at 2:17pm

Yeah Mexicans usually have decent Youth Teams.
Runners up last time round so will be a tough game.
Would have been nice had that been the last game of the group.

7 points would most likely get you the runner up place
Some fine maths there.LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote doherty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2019 at 2:57pm

Hoping no LOI player gets called for this for the sake of their clubs

what? the more LOI players we can get playing at international level the better. short term pain for long term gain.

Yeah but the clubs need their players at that time more the ireland u-21s do for a few friendlies.

small time mentality IMO.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lassassinblanc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2019 at 3:09pm

Yeah Mexicans usually have decent Youth Teams.
Runners up last time round so will be a tough game.
Would have been nice had that been the last game of the group.

7 points would most likely get you the runner up place
Some fine maths there.LOL

I'm confused what is funny.

Is it that I'm stating the obvious that two wins and a draw would be 7 points?

As I said I'd rather say have China and Bahrain first have six points on board knowing that perhaps a draw against Mexico would be enough to possibly reach 7 points.

Though looking at the other groups

Group B has France, Brazil, Guatamala and Qatar, you'd imagine the French and Brazilians might be in the same boat as ourselves and Mexico thinking 7 points might be enough for the runner up spot.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2019 at 3:12pm
Because you can’t possibly finish any lower than second on seven points. It would be a mathematical impossibility.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lassassinblanc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2019 at 3:13pm

Because you can’t possibly finish any lower than second on seven points. It would be a mathematical impossibility.

that is true.

You know what I meant though Wink

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote doherty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2019 at 3:56pm
i see online that guus hiddink is in charge of the chinese u21's. must be paying him a bucket load of cash.
tetsujin1979 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tetsujin1979 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2019 at 6:28pm
seven points was enough to get in to the second round for the last two tournaments
All goals, red & yellow cards posted on mastodon and facebook

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2019 at 7:27pm
The only way seven points wouldn’t get you through is on goal difference. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 4:52pm
Regretting I didn't try and book a few days off for this. Would've been a handy away trip, taking in a couple of their group games before heading over to Copenhagen for the Friday. 
pateen View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pateen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 May 2019 at 4:08pm
Anyone know when the squad for this is announced?
Flying so high, trying to remember
How many cigarettes did I bring along?
When I get down I'll jump in a taxi cab
Driving through London town, to cry you a song
Dr. Pat View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dr. Pat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 May 2019 at 7:42pm

Anyone know when the squad for this is announced?

Tomorrow
Geremi has let Kilbane in here, cross comes out to Holland, 1:1!!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Banjaxed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 May 2019 at 8:11pm
Is Troy fit again?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Paulie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 May 2019 at 11:07pm
Is this still shown on Eurosport or do Sky have it?
Joxer34 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Joxer34 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2019 at 12:06pm
Be interesting to see who is in the squad as there is a lot of lads who could potentially be in it who weren’t in it last time: Ryan johansson, Ryan Nolan, Simon power, josh Barrett, Callum o’hare Etc

Edited by Joxer34 - 21 May 2019 at 12:06pm
engpad View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote engpad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2019 at 2:13pm
No Troy Parrott in the squad. 

Nathan Collins, Armstrong Oko-flex, Daniel Mandriou, Trevor Clarke notable omissions.   

Parrott, Obafemi, Bazunu, Doyle-Hayes injured. 

Edited by engpad - 21 May 2019 at 2:32pm
JoxerDaly View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JoxerDaly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2019 at 2:18pm
Wonder will the 19s players picked miss the Euros now ? Bit of a joke of they do imo. Why play a meaningless freindly tounrament agabist second rate opposition instead of going to and trying to win a European Championship. Lads like O'Connor, Idah, Connolly, Coventry, and Knight all in this squad.
grannyrule View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote grannyrule Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2019 at 2:22pm
Some Jack Taylor lad from Barnet called up as well as Stephen Mallon of Sheffield Utd. 

Originally posted by engpad engpad wrote:

Armstrong Oko-flex other notable omissions.   

Don't know why we keep talking about this lad when he doesn't seem too bothered with us.

Edited by grannyrule - 21 May 2019 at 2:28pm
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 24>