Topic Closed20 Moments that shook Irish sport

Direct Link To This Post Topic: 20 Moments that shook Irish sport
    Posted: 29 Oct 2007 at 6:59pm
Great programme but why have Mario Rosencock ruin it with crap comic quips.

The Saipan story really brought back all those what if's..has Irish soccer ever recovered from it???

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2007 at 7:11pm
Yes it was really good but I suppose Mario was only working to a script and it was clearly trying to copy Channel 4's Top 100 whatevers, with smart Jimmy Carr comments.  The Milltown 87 slot really had my blood boiling again listening to Louis Kilcoyne's cr*p (and my mug appeared at one of the rallies so that was funny!), and the 95 riot in Lansdowne really got the blood going through the bloody roof.   Combat 18 cnuts.  And as you say LY, bloody Saipan............oh Jaysus, what a bombshell it all was and as you say LY, still is.  I still don't go for the "we coulda won it" sh*te though..........
L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2007 at 7:15pm
Exactly what I thought a copy of the 100 greatest films/tv etc etc.. moments they're light hearted and it works but not for this show. You got into each of the 20 moments and then it was a little joke..anyway we wouldn't have won the world cup..but we could have been contenders

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2007 at 7:58pm
GREAT programme, Never seen a pub so quiet!

It was so good an argument started about the usual KEANE V the rest.

To which my response was something like this....\
Keane stood up to the sh*t that is the FAI.

This is the SAME fai that one of the 10 board members I talked to today
said this....and i quote."Kevin Moran is one of my choices becasue he has experience playing in Croke Park, and understands the pressures involved playing in Croke Park"

I kid you not.

O ye, he also said that Moran is finanially sensibe and that's a great asset!!

THIS IS WHAT WE ARE UP AGAINST

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2007 at 8:09pm
Originally posted by GerKeano GerKeano wrote:

This is the SAME fai that one of the 10 board members I talked to today said this....and i quote."Kevin Moran is one of my choices becasue he has experience playing in Croke Park, and understands the pressures involved playing in Croke Park"

Ger

From the words used I know who you were talking with Tongue

You're right, it is this level of "administrator" we are up against, but then again if they were independent thinking Oscar Wilde wouldn't have them there.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Oct 2007 at 5:42am
thats not even funny, what a joke that these guys are involved in football at this level! Angry 

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Oct 2007 at 6:00am
The question is HOW these guys are involved in football at this level??!
Kevin Moran? was this fella takin the p1ss or what Angry

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Oct 2007 at 6:46am

One would believe anything that emanates from Merrion Sq.  I love that old story where one blazer wouldn't vote for Paddy Mulligan to become Irish Manager cos  Mulligan threw a bun at him on an away trip some years previous!!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Oct 2007 at 6:59am
that is unbelievable FW, hilarious stuff, much have been a melted bit of jam or chocolate on it aswell! Big%20smile
Justice View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Oct 2007 at 8:50am
Originally posted by GerKeano GerKeano wrote:

GREAT programme, Never seen a pub so quiet!

It was so good an argument started about the usual KEANE V the rest.

To which my response was something like this....\
Keane stood up to the sh*t that is the FAI.

This is the SAME fai that one of the 10 board members I talked to today
said this....and i quote."Kevin Moran is one of my choices becasue he has experience playing in Croke Park, and understands the pressures involved playing in Croke Park"

I kid you not.

O ye, he also said that Moran is finanially sensibe and that's a great asset!!

AngryAngryAngry I don't believ ya GerKeano..that's priceless..just shows that the FAI stooges know sweet F**K alll about footy in this country. What next I wonder ? Bono and Larry Mullen and the lads have experience of  playing Croker and 80,000 fans...should thery get an interview for the job as well???
Irelands Call my arse...

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Oct 2007 at 9:05am
heard they're favourites now with westlife being appointed as their international advisers!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Oct 2007 at 10:09am
Put Garth Brooks and Neil Diamond up front, 2 real Croker crowd pleasers.....
L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Oct 2007 at 10:29am
Just don't mention The Police as dark Horses, Percy wouldn't be too pleased.

Ger: What was your response when the FAI fellah said that..do they actulay learn from their mistakes
Billy O'Toole View Drop Down
Official forum mess

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Oct 2007 at 3:44pm
pure pants that programme...2 odd hrs of tripe