The drinking thread

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 4:19pm
I've done 2 months here and there when I've been close to having my bags packed through the years over the drinking.
Unbelievable for the weight loss. But no craic and damaging for the mental health not to have that release/reward of having the few beers at the end of the evening when all tasks are out of the way. 

Balance is weighed too much on the drink side at the moment but as the summer holidays start approahing I'll start to ramp down more on the drinking (especially midweek) and ramp up on the gym days.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Huntacha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 4:21pm
Some serious boozers in this thread LOL

I couldn’t do more than 2 nights a week or I’d be feeling like sh*te for a couple of days. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MC Hammered Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 4:39pm

Just had a nice pint in the local and am about to head into town. Will have a few liveners before listening to Roddy Collins spoof for the evening i

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 4:47pm
I went off it for nearly 4 months in 2022 and cracked on Stephens Day that year. Main reason I gave it up was just the head fook of drinking, being hungover, beating myself up for drinking and being hungover and then doing the same over and over again.

Felt great off it initially, especially mentally, but as time went on I got a bout of anxiety out of nowhere that lasted for weeks, so I went back on it as the gains (mentally) weren't outweighing the pros anymore

Don't think I've gone a week since that without boozing. I definitely drink too much though (3-4 nights a week) and am an absolute binge drinker when I do. If there is beer in the fridge I'll drink it all - couldn't just have 1 or 2. Same when I go out, would rarely leave the pub early etc

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sausy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 4:53pm

I'm Andrew and I'm an alcoholic. It's been nearly 24 hours since my last drink and I can counting down the time to my next one. 

A few ice cold Guinness for the Rugby would be my current thinking. 

You've made great progress since the drinking cans in bed days so we're all very proud of you.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Badgersboys9 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 4:55pm
Once or twice a week but my problem is when I go at it, I go at it awful hard. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Saint Tom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 4:56pm

I went off it for nearly 4 months in 2022 and cracked on Stephens Day that year. Main reason I gave it up was just the head fook of drinking, being hungover, beating myself up for drinking and being hungover and then doing the same over and over again.

Felt great off it initially, especially mentally, but as time went on I got a bout of anxiety out of nowhere that lasted for weeks, so I went back on it as the gains (mentally) weren't outweighing the pros anymore

Don't think I've gone a week since that without boozing. I definitely drink too much though (3-4 nights a week) and am an absolute binge drinker when I do. If there is beer in the fridge I'll drink it all - couldn't just have 1 or 2. Same when I go out, would rarely leave the pub early etc

This isn't unusual Gaz. 

I don't drink at home but if I'm out for a drink, I'm having a good drink.

For me the messy stuff happens when you are rolling over and topping up from the previous night. Try to avoid that where I can. Rollovers compound hangovers and anxiety for me. I try to avoid drinking alone too.

I drink three times a fortnight on average.

To be honest, I just accept that I need the release and it's very much part of our culture.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 5:00pm
Originally posted by Badgersboys9 Badgersboys9 wrote:

Would you take the shirt off any mans back?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Badgersboys9 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 5:02pm

Originally posted by Badgersboys9 Badgersboys9 wrote:

Would you take the shirt off any mans back?
There'd be no f**kin shtoppin me

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 5:04pm

Might stay off it today - or maybe have four early doors.

Big day at the Dublin racing festival tomorrow with free drink all day. Will be well into a double figure day.
Working late shift Sunday but will make it to Cleary's for five curers after

How much is it in?
45e at the gate

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 5:08pm

This isn't unusual Gaz. 

I don't drink at home but if I'm out for a drink, I'm having a good drink.

For me the messy stuff happens when you are rolling over and topping up from the previous night. Try to avoid that where I can. Rollovers compound hangovers and anxiety for me. I try to avoid drinking alone too.

I drink three times a fortnight on average.

To be honest, I just accept that I need the release and it's very much part of our culture.

Yeah the hangovers after day 2 or 3 of drinking are far worse than just the 1 day. Mood would be fairly low 

Your last sentence is key I suppose. Stops the beating yourself up for boozing. If I just cut out the boozing at home I'd be happy enough with my drinking tbh - but very hard to turn it down when the missus is heading off to the shop to get some beers

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Saint Tom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 5:10pm
Now if only I could figure out when it's time to go home...
irish_major View Drop Down
Bookie Slayer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irish_major Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 5:12pm

Big day at the Dublin racing festival tomorrow with free drink all day. Will be well into a double figure day.

Try Shanbally Kid 3.00 and Henn See 4.10, both each way!

Pints and Racing Clap

Edited by irish_major - 02 Feb 2024 at 5:13pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The GerK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 5:20pm
Originally posted by irish_major irish_major wrote:

Pints and Racing Clap

I shall back these two
cliffrichard View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cliffrichard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 5:21pm
Us auld lads who are fond of a pint are a dying breed. The young lads have zero interest in becoming solid pintmen. Rather be at the gym and on the bag. Lack of Disposable income, more expensive gargle and not wanting to be Langers on social media are probably a factor.

Much prefer the hangover and the Guinness sh*tes myself. Thank f**k there was no social media 20 years ago 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Borussia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 5:22pm

Pints and Racing Clap

Am heading on Sunday - Can't wait.

Edited by Borussia - 02 Feb 2024 at 5:23pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 5:22pm
I do the opposite to what most others do.

I do most of my drinking at home! usually red wine with dinner.

Partial to a few stout mind. Going for a few tonight after training. Probably have about 6 pints and be grand tomorrow.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2024 at 5:32pm

Pints and Racing Clap

Backed