URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57914
Printed Date: 15 May 2024 at 11:23pm

Topic: European Internationals Thread
Subject: European Internationals Thread
Date Posted: 04 Aug 2021 at 10:51am
Van Gaal appointed Netherlands manager for a third time

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0804/1238958-louis-van-gaal-netherlands/" rel="nofollow - https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0804/1238958-louis-van-gaal-netherlands/

Odd they don't seem to want to appoint a non Dutchman. Not like they haven't done so before

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2021 at 12:22pm
Yeah seems a bit of a backwards step for them. I know they initially wanted Ten Haag but Ajax and Ten Haag said no. 

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 8:04pm
Chiesa with a great finish to put Italy 1-0 up against Bulgaria

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 8:05pm
Estonia 1-0 up against Belgium Shocked

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 8:09pm

Estonia 1-0 up against Belgium Shocked

1-1 now. Liechtenstein still holding Germany.

You know Spider, you're a f**kin' mumbling stuttering little f**k. You know that?

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 8:45pm
Hungary 0 - 0 England HT No shots on target in first half,  One shot from the home team and four attempts from engerland, International Football me hole Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 8:50pm
Wow! Timo Werner scored for Germany Shocked

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 9:06pm
Good advertising for Coca Cola LOL

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 9:07pm
ARRYYYYYYYYYYYY

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 9:41pm
Hungarians are a horrible shower of ****s

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 9:48pm
Bit silly by Rice and Grealish pretending to drink out of the cups that they threw on. 
They mustn't have heard about the global pandemic

Posted By: Englishborn
Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 10:14pm

Hungarians are a horrible shower of ****s

The fans are but Hungary proved in the summer they are a decent team plus they now have their best player back

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 10:39pm
Spain's 28 year unbeaten run in World Cup Qualifiers comes to an end. Beaten 2-1 by Sweden 

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 10:41pm

Spain's 28 year unbeaten run in World Cup Qualifiers comes to an end. Beaten 2-1 by Sweden 
Denmark in our group for the 94 WC were the last team to beat them. Some record.

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 11:00pm
That is truly incredible. I almost dont believe it...astonishing.

Posted By: Sharpshooter
Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 11:04pm
Big mistake for Hungarian fans to boo the knee before the start of kickoff, made the England players feel like it was a home game.

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 11:13pm
Originally posted by Sharpshooter Sharpshooter wrote:

Big mistake for Hungarian fans to boo the knee before the start of kickoff, made the England players feel like it was a home game.

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2021 at 11:30pm

Bit silly by Rice and Grealish pretending to drink out of the cups that they threw on. 
They mustn't have heard about the global pandemic

Yeh, just gives the english material for their hilarious Irish jokes...

Date Posted: 04 Sep 2021 at 1:32pm

Date Posted: 04 Sep 2021 at 2:04pm

Date Posted: 04 Sep 2021 at 8:32pm
Ukraine 1-0 up against France with a cracker

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 04 Sep 2021 at 9:01pm

Date Posted: 04 Sep 2021 at 9:18pm
Originally posted by Artie Ziff Artie Ziff wrote:

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2021 at 9:26pm
Andorra have pulled one back in Hungary. Hungary 2-1 Andorra with five minutes to go. Kenny isn't looking so bad now!

You know Spider, you're a f**kin' mumbling stuttering little f**k. You know that?

Posted By: Strazdas
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2021 at 9:42pm
Poland equalise in injury time against England - great header from Szymanski

Posted By: Landsdowne90
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2021 at 9:49pm
wales draw 0-0 at home to Estonia… a poor result and to be honest did not deserve the 3 pts out of the game in Belarus on Sunday. Doesn’t look go for them on current showing…

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2021 at 9:49pm
Originally posted by Landsdowne90 Landsdowne90 wrote:

wales draw 0-0 at home to Estonia… a poor result and to be honest did not deserve the 3 pts out of the game in Belarus on Sunday. Doesn’t look go for them on current showing…

Delighted for them.

They'll struggle badly when Bale retires.

Posted By: Landsdowne90
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2021 at 9:58pm
Difference in atmosphere was night and day compared to our support last night. Seemed a bit flat in Cardiff tonight even trying to push for a winner. 

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2021 at 10:03pm

That's a really bad result for them - Estonia are probably an even weaker side than Belarus.

Posted By: Dalymount79
Date Posted: 08 Sep 2021 at 10:22pm

That's a really bad result for them - Estonia are probably an even weaker side than Belarus.
before tonight Estonia conceded 15 in 3 games.
Both Wales and Czech are guaranteed a playoff  spot but neither look like being good enough to get through 2 playoff games.

Date Posted: 08 Sep 2021 at 10:29pm
Originally posted by Dalymount79 Dalymount79 wrote:

before tonight Estonia conceded 15 in 3 games.
Both Wales and Czech are guaranteed a playoff  spot but neither look like being good enough to get through 2 playoff games.

Don't Estonia have a load of players from Flora Tallinn? I wonder if that recent Euro qualification had the effect of some sort of boost to their morale.

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2021 at 8:52pm
Wales keeper LOL

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2021 at 8:59pm

Wales keeper LOL
what he do🙈

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2021 at 9:02pm

Wales keeper LOL
what he do🙈

https://mobile.twitter.com/SkyFootball/status/1446565061246476291" rel="nofollow - https://mobile.twitter.com/SkyFootball/status/1446565061246476291

Date Posted: 08 Oct 2021 at 10:01pm
Don't Wales have a guaranteed playoff through the Nations League

Date Posted: 09 Oct 2021 at 5:32am

Yah and if they finish 2nd which they probably will do in this group, they will have home advantage in the semi-final playoff afaik.

Posted By: Dalymount79
Date Posted: 09 Oct 2021 at 8:01am

Yah and if they finish 2nd which they probably will do in this group, they will have home advantage in the semi-final playoff afaik.

Home leg in play off semi based on seeding. Only 6 of the 10 2nd teams are seeded. Not guaranteed for Wales yet - it’s very right and have to play Belgium so may need to nick a point of them on the last day for 2nd place and achieve seeding.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2022_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_â" rel="nofollow - https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2022_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_â €“_UEFA_Second_Round

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 12:11pm
It’s going to be a real mixed bag in the playoffs, at the moment it looks like - 

Wales
Scotland 
Serbia
Sweden
Switzerland 
Ukraine 
Czech Rep 
Norway
Croatia 
Poland 
N. Macedonia 

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 8:43pm
The woman presenting the coverage of the Wales and Belarus game is the spitting image of Mya Blair (don't look her up at work).

Heart

Date Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 11:55pm
Some groups are still a bit open and we could see a few big dogs into the playoffs 

Grp G is amazing with Montenegro causing some hassle tonight. Holland could be gone if they lose to Norway and Turkey win against Montenegro 

Northern Ireland could hold Italy possibly meaning the European champions head for the playoffs (Switzerland win over Bulgaria would see them qualify automatically in that case) 

In Grps B and H it's all coming down to the last day with Spain vs Sweden and Russia vs Croatia. Must win games for Sweden and Croatia if they want automatic qualification

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2021 at 12:11am
The Dutch are as hilarious as ever.

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 14 Nov 2021 at 12:13am

Some groups are still a bit open and we could see a few big dogs into the playoffs 

Grp G is amazing with Montenegro causing some hassle tonight. Holland could be gone if they lose to Norway and Turkey win against Montenegro 

Northern Ireland could hold Italy possibly meaning the European champions head for the playoffs (Switzerland win over Bulgaria would see them qualify automatically in that case) 

In Grps B and H it's all coming down to the last day with Spain vs Sweden and Russia vs Croatia. Must win games for Sweden and Croatia if they want automatic qualification

Should be a cracking day of ball tomorrow with these 2 games plus Portugal v Serbia too.

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2021 at 3:30pm
Croatia vs Russia is an intriguing watch.

The pitch is almost unplayable due to really heavy rain - I'm surprised it hasn't been postponed, the ball is not moving on the pitch at all, it's like a bad Sunday league pitch.

Croatia top the group if they win, Russia can do it with a draw.

20 minutes left 0-0.

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2021 at 3:43pm

The woman presenting the coverage of the Wales and Belarus game is the spitting image of Mya Blair (don't look her up at work).

Heart
Just looked her up. WTF is wrong with you? Absolutely hanging together.

Dead

Posted By: E2016
Date Posted: 14 Nov 2021 at 3:51pm

Heart

Dead

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2021 at 6:51pm
North Macedonia heading for the playoffs.

Iceland have gone terribly down over the last few years, would gladly take them in the nations league 

Date Posted: 14 Nov 2021 at 7:12pm

Iceland have gone terribly down over the last few years, would gladly take them in the nations league 
Fair play t them getting into the play offs Clap

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 3:49am

There was a good article on the Icelandic men's team and federation and how their reputations have taken a hammering since Euro 2016 as a result of the allegations of sexual assaults surrounding some players and the mishandling of investigations by the federation. The prominent Everton player's case barely gets a mention given how significant the other cases are.

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 7:34pm
Originally posted by E2016 E2016 wrote:

Heart

Dead

She's the reason I'm watching the San Marino v England coverage.

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 7:48pm
Holy God we gave out about our orange kit but whoever designed the San Marino kit deserves to be locked up Dead

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 9:38pm
Jesus some line up in the playoffs. Portugal, Italy, Russia,Poland, Wales, Sweden for starters

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 9:44pm
which 2nd place team missed out ?

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 9:47pm

None of them. 12 teams whittled down to 3 spots. 6 Semis and 3 Finals. 10 Runners up plus the top 2 Nations League teams who didn't finish in the top 2

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 9:51pm

None of them. 12 teams whittled down to 3 spots. 6 Semis and 3 Finals. 10 Runners up plus the top 2 Nations League teams who didn't finish in the top 2
Cheers, so who made it from the NL ?

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 9:52pm
They're going to need a lot of microwaves and freezers to make sure they keep Italy, Portugal and Russia apart in those playoffs.

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 9:56pm

Austria and the Czechs 

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 10:05pm

Austria and the Czechs 

or Wales, depends who finishes 2nd / 3rd tomorrow in their group.

Either way both have a playoff secured.

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 11:42pm
A real possibility of Italy missing out on consecutive World Cups while Panama are close to qualifying again! Europe really should have more spots up for grabs.

Date Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 11:52pm
Its way too hard for European teams to qualify.  Its positive discrimination.   Why should some mickey mouse team from Asia or elsewhere qualify merely because its ''a world cup''.   IMO it should be the best teams in it from around the world.  Its definitely not fair that a good side like Italy can miss out while say Trindad or someone qualifies merely based on geography. 

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 12:16am
It's going to get worse when it goes to 48 teams for 2026. Three extra European teams and there will be a couple of extra South American teams, but the rest will be absolute rubbish. New Zealand guaranteed a place at every World Cup unless they lose to a handful of tiny islands that will probably be underwater by then.

One vote per country within FIFA ensures this is the way things are.

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 12:37am

Its way too hard for European teams to qualify.  Its positive discrimination.   Why should some mickey mouse team from Asia or elsewhere qualify merely because its ''a world cup''.   IMO it should be the best teams in it from around the world.  Its definitely not fair that a good side like Italy can miss out while say Trindad or someone qualifies merely based on geography. 
CONCACAF and CONMEBOL should be amalgamated along with Asia and Oceania.

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 2:49am

CONCACAF and CONMEBOL should be amalgamated along with Asia and Oceania.

That's like saying Ireland and Northern Ireland should amalgamate. It is the right solution but it has absolutely no chance of happening. Self interest will always win out. And from the other confederations point of view they will argue how can we improve if we are overlooked and the wealthy powerful nations of Europe get all the places at the World Cup. 

And they have a fair point.

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 9:17am

I don't agree with you, but just to see what it looked like, I had a look at current rankings and qualifications. Using rankings as the barometer...
  • 1 Host Nation.
  • 17 European teams - currently 13
  • 6 South American teams (Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Colombia, Chile, Peru) - currently 5
  • 2 North American team (Mexico, USA) - currently 3.5 
  • 4 African teams (Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, Algeria) - currently 5 
  • 2 Asian team (Iran, Japan) currently 4.5
  • 0 Oceania - currently 0.5
You gain Poland, Sweden, Wales, Czechs, Peru
You lose Canada, Panama, Nigeria, Korea, Australia

Not sure it's a better tournament

Posted By: ErsatzThistle
Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 5:39pm
It started last night with a minute's silence for two of Scottish football's legends, Walter Smith and Bertie Auld, it ended later on in crazy celebrations. This is the best Scotland team since the mid-nineties.

John McGinn's backside is our secret weapon.

I hope we don't have to play Israel again for a long time. Seven times in three years is plenty. There are some amount of diving, injury feigning cheats in that team as well.

Thank you, Steve Clarke for making us proud again.

Btw my Great Grandmother's ghost demands I say something about THE EIRE !

I like the look of the team Stephen Kenny is building, and the results are beginning to come.

Stick with him, it all takes time.

Passing football, a positive attitude, involving young Irish players with their whole careers ahead of them - that's brilliant. I like the lad Knight, he looks a good player.

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 5:46pm
Originally posted by ErsatzThistle ErsatzThistle wrote:

It started last night with a minute's silence for two of Scottish football's legends, Walter Smith and Bertie Auld, it ended later on in crazy celebrations. This is the best Scotland team since the mid-nineties.

John McGinn's backside is our secret weapon.

I hope we don't have to play Israel again for a long time. Seven times in three years is plenty. There are some amount of diving, injury feigning cheats in that team as well.

Thank you, Steve Clarke for making us proud again.

Btw my Great Grandmother's ghost demands I say something about THE EIRE !

I like the look of the team Stephen Kenny is building, and the results are beginning to come.

Stick with him, it all takes time.

Passing football, a positive attitude, involving young Irish players with their whole careers ahead of them - that's brilliant. I like the lad Knight, he looks a good player.

Clarke has you lot playing really well. Hoping to avoid you  in the Nations league and guessing you probably wouldn't fancy facing us at the same time 

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 5:56pm
Originally posted by ErsatzThistle ErsatzThistle wrote:

Congrats on securing the home play-off ET. Clap

Also interesting to note that little appears to have changed with the Israeli national football team...

Posted By: ErsatzThistle
Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 6:38pm

Clarke has you lot playing really well. Hoping to avoid you  in the Nations league and guessing you probably wouldn't fancy facing us at the same time 

Thanks Denis !

Aye, a game between reborn Scots and Irish sides would be a very interesting one.

The mighty arse of John McGinn could be the deciding factor .....

Congrats on securing the home play-off ET. Clap

Also interesting to note that little appears to have changed with the Israeli national football team...

Thanks Devrozex !

I've previously read on this forum the memories you lads had of that infamous Ireland vs Israel match back in 2005.

The Israeli's tried every dramatic trick in the book during the second half at Hampden last month. The one that took the biscuit was their defender feigning a serious facial injury in an attempt to get Lyndon Dykes goal chopped off. However, Dykes boot was nowhere near his face, which VAR thankfully confirmed.

They actually have some fairly good attacking players, but their defence is quite poor with terrible concentration. If you drew them, I'd back Ireland to score three against them in Dublin.

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 9:24pm
Mbappe unstoppable tonight again! Best player in the world. 

Posted By: xRedmanLFCx
Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 9:46pm
Do we know the seeding for WC qualifiers in March now?

"We will be galvanised and motivated, and we will bring thousands to this tournament." - MON

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 9:57pm
Originally posted by xRedmanLFCx xRedmanLFCx wrote:

Do we know the seeding for WC qualifiers in March now?

Seeded:

Portugal
Scotland 
Italy 
Russia
Sweden 
Wales

Unseeded:

Poland 
North Macedonia 
Ukraine 
Turkey
Austria
Czech Republic 

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 10:16pm
there'd be holy war if portugal and italy ended up in the same path Shocked

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 10:29pm
Cue Scotland drawing Macedonia and preceding to lose 1-0

Date Posted: 16 Nov 2021 at 10:35pm

there'd be holy war if portugal and italy ended up in the same path Shocked

Not a f**king chance they'll allow that.

Posted By: savo01
Date Posted: 17 Nov 2021 at 12:06pm

Nonsense!  As was said, it is called the World Cup for a reason.  We've also expanded the Euro's so there's enough games between European nations.  And finally, Italy drew with Switzerland twice, with NI, and with Bulgaria at home.  This is why they didn't top their group and make it automatically, nothing to do with teams in Central America having the audacity to want to play in a World Cup!  

Jackie Charlton, Eoin Hand
Johnny Giles. Ireland
Mick McCarthy, Stephen Staunton
Cascarino
Tony Galvin, Niall Quinn
Packie doesn't let em in
North of Ireland
South of Ireland
Only one can go

Posted By: savo01
Date Posted: 17 Nov 2021 at 12:06pm
No fans at the Netherlands v Norway game last night....................................................Cry

Jackie Charlton, Eoin Hand
Johnny Giles. Ireland
Mick McCarthy, Stephen Staunton
Cascarino
Tony Galvin, Niall Quinn
Packie doesn't let em in
North of Ireland
South of Ireland
Only one can go

Posted By: newrynyuk
Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 4:20pm
PORTUGAL vs. ITALY IS ON!!!

Both teams drawn in the same play-off path.  Win their semis and they face each other.  Ooh this could be explosive! Big smile

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 4:21pm
Holy f**k... Portugal are sorry now for taking us lightly. 

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 4:24pm
North Macedonia got totally shafted LOL

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 4:32pm
And also potentally Wales vs. Scotland in final 1!

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 4:33pm
Wales/Austria v Scotland/ Ukraine

Russia/Poland v Sweden/Czech Republic

Portugal/Turkey v Italy/North Macedonia.

Some potentially great ties there

Portugal v Italy?
Wales v Scotland?

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 4:33pm
Decent draw for the Welsh and Scots, they both somehow managed to avoid all of the big three. Obviously both can't now qualify but one of them likely to from this point. Austria are poor enough and Ukraine nothing special.

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 4:34pm

Portugal v Italy?
Wales v Scotland?

Lewandowski v Ibrahimovic.

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 4:35pm
Russia v Poland  Hug

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 4:48pm
Portugal and Italy balls obviously not left in the freezer long enough 

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 4:52pm

Why? It wouldn't have made any odds. They still needed not to lose against Serbia either way.

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 4:53pm

Russia v Poland  Hug
This could be very tasty

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 6:15pm

Portugal v Italy?
Wales v Scotland?

Great draw for Wales and Scotland. 

I wanted to see Italy and Portugal both make it so shame one of them will miss out. 

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 8:00pm

Why? It wouldn't have made any odds. They still needed not to lose against Serbia either way.
what I meant was their attitude signified a belief that they were coasting to Qatar. Also happened in their away game in Belgrade. Getting to Qatar looks a tough task now, only themselves to blame.

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 8:09pm
Was there any seedings in end or a complete open draw?

Fair play FIFA if it was open

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 9:25pm

Was there any seedings in end or a complete open draw?

Fair play FIFA if it was open

Nah was seeded and the 6 teams got home advantage for their semi.

Date Posted: 26 Nov 2021 at 9:48pm

Russia v Poland  Hug
This could be very tasty
I remember watching their fixture at euro 2012 in a pub near the square in Poznan. For the Poles, it seemed the one thing they wanted from that tournament was not to lose to Russia. Some night after the match all the same, madness, got back to stalig Carlsberg about 4.30 in a jocker...

Date Posted: 27 Nov 2021 at 12:55am

Russia v Poland  Hug
This could be very tasty
I remember watching their fixture at euro 2012 in a pub near the square in Poznan. For the Poles, it seemed the one thing they wanted from that tournament was not to lose to Russia. Some night after the match all the same, madness, got back to stalig Carlsberg about 4.30 in a jocker...
i was in torun that night. remember watching on the news the provocative march by 10's of thousands of russian fans to the stadium in warsaw. mind you it was great craic in the square after the full time whistle.

Date Posted: 27 Nov 2021 at 12:56am

Russia v Poland  Hug
This could be very tasty

I watched Russia vs. Poland at Euro 2012 at the fan park in Toruń. The locals went mental when Kuba scored the equaliser. They celebrated well into the night back in town beneath the Copernicus statute as if Poland had won

Posted By: VanBosch
Date Posted: 27 Nov 2021 at 12:47pm
went back to Warsaw between our two games and actually went to that game - a lot of hostility!

Date Posted: 27 Nov 2021 at 2:09pm
Originally posted by VanBosch VanBosch wrote:

went back to Warsaw between our two games and actually went to that game - a lot of hostility!

Gotta feel for the poles , the neighbours either side of haven’t covered themselves in glory in their dealings with the poles  

Posted By: xRedmanLFCx
Date Posted: 28 Nov 2021 at 3:36pm
Disappointed that one of the last two Euro winners won't be at the world cup. Surprised that UEFA/FIFA didn't fix the draw and prevent it from happening LOL

"We will be galvanised and motivated, and we will bring thousands to this tournament." - MON

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2023 at 8:37pm
That's the worst Italy team i have ever seen in my time i think. Looks low on quality. England jampots get another peno. Peno specialists you might day. Its not right watching such a poor Italy. It pains me.

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2023 at 9:08pm
Super Italian goal Clap

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2023 at 9:15pm
Bout time they took Grealish off, rice, maguire and walker all on yellow, tricky now🤔

Date Posted: 23 Mar 2023 at 9:17pm
I still feel a bit ill looking at the other groups being played tonight we could have been drawn in instead, you would have fancied us in literally any other group. Even this one with England and Italy wouldn't have been as a bad as bleedin France and Holland!